Skip to content

Flour, Flour, Flour..

December 6, 2010

Flour is what I will probably have nightmares about tonight.  I definitely had some work to do in the kitchen today!! I had been raving about this farro porridge to anyone and everyone who would listen.  So I decided to make it for my Aunt and Uncle [and myself :-)] this morning. Farro Porridge for three? Check.

I topped mine with homemade almond butter and brown sugar. Yum. It’s amazing how filling this stuff is.

Then it was onto B-A-K-I-N-G!

First on the list were Baklava Cookies. I had first heard about this idea from Emily at The Front Burner!  She made them vegan, so I wanted to un-veganize them and put a little spin on them!  These things are a hit anywhere I bring them!  I start by making a brown sugar shortbread cookie dough.

Pretty basic Method of Prep. Cream the butter and sugar. Add the dry ingredients. And you’ll eventually get this lovely dough.

I roll them into little balls and make them into a thumbprint cookie, by using my thumb to make a hole in the center.  Fill them with the nut mixture.  I used a mixture of toasted pecans, walnuts, pistachios, hazelnuts and tossed with with some spices and honey and butter.

I bake them at about 325 degrees Farenheit for about 20 minutes [I do it by sight.] Let them cool and put them on your favorite platter!

Next on the menu was another inspiration from a blogger. I wanted to do something different that I haven’t done in a while.  This was perfect!  Coconut Cream Cupcakes from How Sweet It Is!  I followed the recipe pretty much.

These came out delish!  I forgot how much I loved toasted coconut.

Aren’t they pretty? Pretty delicious…

Then I needed to get the Chocolate mix done and chilled for [[drumroll please]]…. HOMEMADE CHOCOLATE TRUFFLES!!

These really are so easy to make.  Just melt some bittersweet chocolate and heavy cream until melted.  Take off the heat and add butter.  At this point you could add a liquor of flavoring of your choice.  I just stayed simple today. Easy breezy.  Put it in a baking dish, cover and chill in the fridge for at least two hours!  Once cool enough. Take a small scoop or melon baller and scoop out little balls and roll them in any topping of your choice.

While those were chilling we had a little neighborly visit from Sassy the dog!

Look at that face.  She was stylin’ too. Check out that leopard coat!

Too cute…

It was time for lunch! And we really did not feel like making anything for lunch. Cue pizza!!

Isn’t that a cool pizza box? I dug it.

This pizza was Ok. Cheese pizza with sausage. It was sort of bland though. But we were hungry so it filled the void.

Ok back to baking.

Next on this list needed to be something chocolate. I wanted to try something mini.  Saw these chocolate cuties on Oh She Glows. Figured I’d give them a shot. Made a few alterations. Her icing was vegan, I un-veganized it and added a my own spice blend to it. The icing was key for these cupcakes.  I added more cocoa powder to the cupcake batter. I wanted chocolate!!

 

Topped them with some candied walnuts. I do really simple candied nuts. It involved butter, brown sugar and nuts. That’s it.

They were really cute.  But I still think they could have used a bit more chocolate.  But I liked the cinnamon and spice flavors!

Chocolate cupcakes check.  Coconut cupcakes check. Baklava cookies check.

It was onto rolling the truffles! We took them out of the fridge and took a melon baller and scooped out little balls. We picked an assortment of four toppings to roll them in, crushed Amaretti cookies, crushed candy canes, cocoa powder and toasted coconut.

These were so yum!! [and lethal!]

Truffles check.

Last but not least, cannolis! We had bought the shells already. We just made the filling. My Aunt bought this fresh ricotta cheese from an Italian shop. O-M-G does not even begin to describe it. If you’ve never tasted really fresh ricotta, you need to!

We made half plain and half pistachio. They were so good. Cannolis are a classic and will never go out of style.

We packed up the desserts and headed to my Aunt and Uncle’s office party! The desserts were a big hit! I’m glad it all turned out for the better! It was fun meeting new people and networking! I’m convinced networking is key! It also made me realize I need to make some business cards.  It’s annoying to have to find paper and pens to write down your information!

Sorry this post is A) Long and B) Late!! I just got home a little while ago and was hoping to get this post up before midnight..Fail!

Work tomorrow so I need to get some shut eye!!

Night!

Vanessa :-)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 3:36 pm

    wow all the goodies that you made look absolutely wonderful. I have always wanted to attempt to make my own cannolis. I am your newest follower.

    xo

    • December 6, 2010 5:36 pm

      Thanks so much :-) The cannolis are super simple, especially when you buy the shells already made!! Thanks for following!! It means a lot!!

Trackbacks

  1. Cheating « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

