Skip to content

Chilled Summer Soup

July 26, 2011

Oh Summer days…

How I longed for you in the cold winter months.

[But], Damn.  Can we chill it down a little bit??

Seriously.

When you live in a small one bedroom apartment [like yours truly], cooking on the stove or firing up the oven is like a death wish.

I’m serious.  It gets so flippin’ hot.

So today I decided to make something cool and refreshing.

Chilled corn and avocado soup.

I had this whole preconceived plan in my head when I bought the avocados and corn last week.

 I even wrote my plans down on paper.  Ingredients and diagrams were involved.

It was intense.  Like schematic intense.

Just saying…

So I had this chilled soup on the brain.

I wanted to make something to balance out the coolness with a little kick.

That’s when I had the brilliant idea to make a chili oil to drizzle on top of the soup.

I started with some chile de arbol.

 These chiles are a small but very potent Mexican chili pepper.  A little goes a long way.

To make the infused oil, I started by heating up some olive oil in a pan.  Then I added one thinly sliced clove of garlic to the hot oil.

I sauteed the garlic until just golden in color.  Then I removed the garlic slices and set them aside for later.

Next I added a small handful of the chiles to the oil.

I only sauteed them for a minute or so, just until they got really potent and started turning brownish in color.

Just like with the garlic, I set the chiles aside.

Lastly I added a generous sprinkling of sesame seeds to the pan.

I cooked them until they just started to get a golden hue.

I then removed the pan from the heat and let it cool down for a few minutes.

Once cool enough [room temperature], I added the oil, sesame seeds, chiles, garlic and a pinch of salt to the blender.

I blended until it was mostly incorporated.

Then I strained the oil, discarded the pulp part and poured it into a squeeze bottle for later.

Warning:  This is oil is super hot and spicy!  Use sparingly and at your own risk!  I like to think of it as a Mexican hot sauce.  It’s good in moderation!

Now that the chile oil was complete [and I’ve nicely warned you :-) ], it was onto the soup.

I shucked three ears of corn, rubbed with with olive oil, salt and black pepper and roasted them in the oven until down [about 15 minutes maybe?].

  

Once I removed the corn from the oven I let them cool for a few minutes, just until they were tolerable to handle.

Then I cut the kernels off the cob like so.

I set the corn kernels and the cobs aside for later.

Yes, save the cobs.  Trust me.

Next I slowly caramelized one clove of garlic and one whole shallot [both chopped coarsely] in some olive oil.

When they were golden brown and soft, I removed the pan from the heat and set aside.

So how are all of these components going to come together you ask?

Well…

In a pot I put the corn cobs, half of the reserved corn kernels, the caramelized shallot and garlic, some salt and water.

I covered the pot with a lid, let it come up to a boil and then turned it down to a simmer.

I let it simmer for about 20 minutes.

Then I took the pot off the heat and let it cool some.

Once around room temperature I discarded the corn cobs and poured the rest of the mixture from the pot into the blender.

  

To the mixture I added one and a half avocados, the juice of one lime, salt and pepper and two or three heaping tablespoons of plain, greek yogurt.

Then I let it blend away until smooth in consistency.

Oh yeah.  That’s what I’m talking about.

At this point, it’s all up to you.  Taste it, check for seasonings, adjust as you wish.

Then just stick the soup in the fridge to chill down to a nice, refreshing cold temperature.

Once cooled, it’s time to plate!

I was a little too excited to plate this dish.  I seriously had a diagram of my vision on paper. <–Food nerd.

I poured the soup into a bowl and then went crazy with toppings.

I topped the soup with sliced avocado, corn kernels, torn parsley leaves and chili oil.

Gawgeoussss.

Seriously, this was SO damn refreshing.

The soup itself was so creamy from the avocados and yogurt.

The toppings were the perfect complimentary element that it needed.

A little crunch from the corn, more creaminess from the avocado and a little kick from the chili oil.

Mmh that chili oil!  It’s like spicy at first, then nutty from the sesame seeds.

All in all delicious.

Now that I’m writing this post, I wish I had made more.

Oh well, guess that just means that I’ll have to buy more avocados. :-)

Hope you guys enjoyed this dish!  I had such fun experimenting and making it.  Let me know if any of you readers try something similar!

As you should, because this is the season for cool, refreshing things!

Alright well I’m off to finish a few things up and then it’s my toss and turn bed time.

Work starts at 7am for me tomorrow! Yikes.

Goodnight!

Vanessa :-)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 11:09 pm

    This is a great idea! I always forget about cold soups…I’m not a big fan of gazpacho, but other cold soups I like. And loving your pictures, awesome. The chili oil reminds me of something Bobby Flay would do, hehe :)

    • July 27, 2011 4:11 pm

      I know, I love a good, cold soup. I really have to be in the mood for gazpacho. The avocado and corn goes so well together, it’s impossible for it not to be good. Thanks Laura :-) haha You know as I drizzled the oil on my soup I thought the same thing. Damn Bobby Flay…

Trackbacks

  1. Chowin’ Down Uptown « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

