Skip to content

Girl’s Night Out

August 13, 2011

Today I was at work at 6 am.

I didn’t have high hopes for doing much of anything after I got off work.

I thought my afternoon and evening would be full of laundry, napping and movies.

Then I got a tweet from the lovely Mary extending an invite to dinner and a movie with her and Jamie .

Hell yeah.  Girl’s night out!

We saw Harry Potter and it was surprisingly kind of crowded in the theater.  Meaning all of the prime seats were taken.

Lame.

It also should be known that this was the first Harry Potter movie I went to go see in the movie theater.  I was never a huge fanatic, but enjoy watching the movies when they are on tv.

After the movie, we decided to walk over to the restaurant for dinner.

Cafe Monte, a french style bistro!

None of us had been here before so it was a new experience!

The decor was so cute and charming.

Complete with display cases of pastries and desserts.

Just as it should be.

Our reservations weren’t until 7:00 and we arrived around 6:30, so we sat at the bar and had drink while we browsed the menu.

  

A glass of Pinot Noir for me.

We finally got seated and decided on sharing a four cheese fondue for an appetizer.

Gruyere, Swiss, Mozzarella and Pecorino all bubbly and melted together in a cute little crock.

Sliced french rounds bread for dipping.

I can’t think of a better vehicle for cheese.

For my entree, I chose the Trout Amandine.

The trout was tasty and the skin was crispy.

It was served with french green beans, fingerling potatoes and caper butter.

Mmh caper butter.

Twas’ delicious.

Of course being the nosey person that I am, I took pictures of the other entrees at the table.

Jamie got the Lobster and Crab risotto with tomato confit.

It looked delicious.

Mary got the Chicken and Wild Mushroom Crepes in a Madeira Wine Creme.

Not gona lie, these crepes looked pretty darn good.

Too bad I’m not a fan of mushrooms.

We weren’t sure whether or not we were going to get dessert.

After perusing the dessert menu, we decided to share a huge slice of carrot cake.

Mmh carrot cake.

It was even more delicious washed down with some french roast coffee.

Twas’ a fabulous girl’s night out.

Thank you kind bartender for going out of your way and taking our picture. 

Great dinner with great company.

Nashville here we come!! :-)

In October of course…

In other news I’m off tomorrow, woo!  Not sure what trouble I’ll get myself into.

Any suggestions?!

Goodnight!

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 8:50 pm

    You don’t like mushrooms?! One of my favorite foods, gotta say. Have a good day off! (Wish I had another one of those…)

    • August 14, 2011 11:29 pm

      Haha.. I get that reaction a lot. I feel horrible for not liking them. Sometimes they’re tolerable. I always get in these moods where I try them hoping my tastes will change. No dice. Although I’m forced to taste them while working. I’m milking the days off I have before I work for a month straight. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

