Skip to content

Spicy Zucchini and Corn Relish

August 17, 2011

It’s Wednesday.

That means I’m leaving for my first work trip in less than two days.

Crap.

This is why I haven’t blogged in two days, STRESSED!

Laundry. Packing. Cleaning everything. More laundry.

That’s been my life.  So I apologize for my horrible blogger manners.

Another thing I’ve been doing has been cleaning out the fridge.

Today I wanted to use up the zucchini and corn that I had.

At first I was thinking of making a cake, but then I changed my mind and made this delicious relish!

A delicious, spicy zucchini and corn relish, to be more specific.

First I diced up the zucchini and threw it into a bowl.

Fun fact:  I secretly love making things when they need to be cut smaller.  It’s like therapy.

Seriously.

Sometimes when I’m stressed and just plain pissed off in the kitchen I’ll grab some mushrooms or a cucumber and slice it really fast.

I’m telling you, it works wonders.

Plus I get to practice knife skills, which sometimes go by the wayside.

Anyways, back to the relish.

Next I cut the corn kernels off a cob and added the kernels to the zucchini.

I’m really going to miss Summer corn.

I diced up some white onion and threw it into the mix.

Then I got crazy and chopped up some [homemade] pickled jalepenos.

In the bowl they went.

Seeds and all!

Hence the spicy portion of the relish.

I heated up some olive oil in a saute pan and added the zucchini and corn mixture to it.

At this time I spontaneously added a few chopped frozen peppers to the pan too.

I stirred it all around and really let it get all caramelized.

I seasoned it with salt and pepper and squeezed some lime juice into it.  Oh and I added a little honey for sweetness too.

Once done, I sprinkled in some chopped parsley and removed it from the heat.

Now this relish would be fine on its own with a bag of tortilla chips.

However I wanted to use it as a condiment of sorts.

Although I’m sure some of it will get eating with chips anyway.

:: Ding ::

^^Lightbulb went off

A grilled hot dog is a perfect vehicle for the spicy relish!

Now usually I’m pretty picky about what goes on a hot dog.

I almost always say sauerkraut and spicy brown mustard is the way to go.

Definitely NOT that horrible French’s yellow mustard. Blegh.

This corn relish was pretty tasty on top of the hot dog though.

It was sweet and spicy all at the same time.

Mmmh delish!

Can’t wait to use this on more things in the next couple days.

Alright, I’m off to drink a glass of wine do some more cleaning.

Food truck rally tomorrow with some Charlotte Food Bloggers!!  I can’t wait to eat a cupcake and see some awesome people too of course :-)

Oh one more thing.  I announced this on Twitter but in case you missed it.  The deadline for the Peaches secret ingredient challenge ends Friday!  So if you participated feel free to tell me what you did or send pictures!  I’ll be showing you guys what I did with my peaches on Friday too!

Goodnight!

Vanessa :-)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 7:51 pm

    Agh! I’ve had the challenge idea in my head for days now, but haven’t had time to put it together or kept forgetting. Is it ok if I wasn’t able to get you it until tomorrow afternoon?

    • August 18, 2011 8:25 pm

      Yea that’ll be fine! I probably won’t be able to get it up until tomorrow night anyways. Looking forward to seeing what you’ll do :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

