Skip to content

Chowin’ Down Uptown

August 18, 2011

In case anyone was wondering I’m still procrastinating.

I’d say I’m about 80% packed for Tennessee and um, 10% packed for NY and Jersey.

Yeah…….

I did a few productive errands today but got way sidetracked by a trip to the mall.

I did pick up two skirts from Anthropologie for $30 each!  So I guess all’s not lost.

Then before I knew it, it was time to meet some Charlotte Food Bloggers at Chow Down Uptown!

I met Julie, Taylor, Jamie and Mary Uptown.

  

The place was jammin’ by 5:45!

It makes me happy that so many people support this event.  It really is great.

I’ve always said that if I somehow or someway had the money, I’d start my own food truck.  I mean the food is the easy part.  It’s the money and permits that get tricky.  Alas, it will stay a dream for now.  [Hint, hint to any investors out there :-) ]

There was a giant inflatable pig in the parking lot.

I like him.

I perused the trucks trying to decide what I wanted to get.

I decided on Roaming Fork first.

This truck always seems to have the longest line and wait, which I admit peeves me a bit but it is what it is.

It just means good business for them!

I got the parmesan, garlic and herb french fries.

You really can’t go wrong with fries.

They were pretty tasty.

I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to get for my main dinner.

That is until Roots pulled up and joined in the fun.

I have a thing for this food truck.  I don’t think I’ve had anything bad from it.

::Knock on wood::

I chose two jerk chicken tacos for dinner.

The tacos were topped with a melon slaw and greek yogurt.

These were so YUM!

I loved the melon slaw on top.  So genius.

After we all had our meals, we decided to have a cupcake party from Cupcake Delirium!

Mary got the lemon blueberry cupcake and Jamie got the Smore’s cupcake.

  

Both looked delish!

Taylor got the amazing, delicious Elvis cupcake [which I clearly forgot to photograph].

I must admit the Elvis was tempting, but I was determined to try something new.

So I asked the creator which one she thought was better, the root beer float cupcake or the vanilla caramel pretzel cupcake.

She convinced me into the root beer float cupcake by saying it was pretty rare that she makes them.

Sold.

This was so good.

The root beer was subtle enough where it wasn’t overpowering.

The frosting was AH-MAZ-ING.

So glad I got this.

I kind of want another one.

Then we noticed that Fox news was there and I decided to be crazy and stalk the paparazzi.

You can just call me the “stalk”arazzi.

Kidding.

Sort of.

We even saw few familiar faces at the rally!

Julie saw a few of her students [SO cute!].  We saw Scott [Charlotte's social media guy] too, one of those people you tweet with but never met in person! So that was cool!

We talked some more about eating more than boys and My Drunk Kitchen videos and then we parted ways.

Not before we snapped a picture of all of us!

[Thanks for the photo Taylor!]

Now I’m attempting to finish packing.

Should be starting my drive sometime between 9-10 am tomorrow.

Wish me luck!

Check out my corn and avocado soup that was featured on Shape.com chilled summer soup slideshow!

Goodnight!

Vanessa :-)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2011 6:18 am

    It was so nice meeting you guys last night. And thanks for introducing me to Jamie’s blog — I wasn’t reading it before, but I am now!

    Great pics…love me some Chow Down Uptown!

    • August 19, 2011 6:44 pm

      Her blog is great! It never fails to make me laugh. Thanks Scott! I love Chow Down Uptown too, can’t wait for the next one!

  2. Bibliophiled Away permalink
    August 19, 2011 1:11 pm

    Great to meet you last night, Scott and may I say you are are joining legions of fans/readers and when I say legions, I mean dozens;)

    Kudos on shape.com, V!

  3. August 19, 2011 2:41 pm

    So cool about the Shape feature! Congrats! :) I had a long moment a few months ago where I seriously thought about opening up a food truck too, but I got a bit discouraged by some of the issues that ones in DC are having right now. The politics, permits, and laws are always changing, so its a bit risky for my liking.

    • August 19, 2011 6:45 pm

      Thanks Laura! Hmm we should just go somewhere where there’s not all of those issues and start one :-) Just kidding, sort of. Lol.

  4. August 19, 2011 2:56 pm

    Hey that’s me – well the back of me in your top pic :) I brought my kids. My son loves the Southern Cake Queen cupcake truck!!

    • August 19, 2011 6:46 pm

      Haha really? That’s funny. Southern Cake Queen has some delicious cupcakes too!! I was just totally sold and intrigued by the crazy flavors of these cupcakes! Hope you and your kids enjoyed the night!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

