Skip to content

A Cook’s Monday

November 12, 2010

Happy Monday! Well it sure felt like one for me! Typically Fridays are usually full of “T.G.I.F.’s” and nights out on the town.  Not in the life of a cook.  Today was my first day back at work from having three days off aka my weekend [Tues, Wed, Thurs.]. And yes, I did have a “case of the mondays”. Usually if my shift starts at 9am, I’ll start the wake ups at 6:30, which usually means more like waking up at 7:00am. I then brew a extremely large, strong pot of coffee.  *Side note: for those reading who don’t know me well, I’m lethal without my morning coffee. Just so you know.

Breakfast consisted of what I’ve come to know as “OIAJ” [Oats in a jar]. The mix: Rolled oats, pumpkin puree, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, vanilla, banana, milk, water, dash of salt. Sounds like a lot but it’s delicious, I promise.

I used to think oats were so boring.  But you want to know what makes them so fun? TOPPINGS!  The topping choices are endless! This one was topped with almonds and the peanut butter in the jar.

This is what I look like when going to work. Attractive right? Although it was quite comfortable. Makes me grateful for not being cooped up in an office and forced to wear business casual attire all day. 🙂

Work changes from day to day in the kitchen. Our menu changes every event, which is such a positive! I love changing menus!! But I hate changes in life.  Go figure!!!  This is what today consisted of:

Calabaza squash pretending to be prehistoric Stonehenge

Making lots of dressings and vinaigrettes.  My immersion blender is probably one of my favorite kitchen tools EVER!! And that says a lot!

Watching Zambonis resurface the ice. [Checkers hockey game tonight!]

Playing with gourds.

Admired bread.

And took beauty in odd shaped carrots. [Don’t judge.]

After work, the rest of the day consisted of a whole lot of nothing! Ate some lunch:

A wrap with avocado, hummus, spinach and goat cheese with a side of  pumpernickel pretzel sticks

And vanilla flavored Chobani yogurt mixed with pumpkin butter with almonds and blueberries on top[YUM!]

Caught up on emails, wrote prep sheets, watched some tv, etc.  I had leftovers for dinner simply because I was feeling very uninspired to create a new dish. Dinner consisted of this:

Leftover pasta with roasted veggies, feta cheese and this amazing balsamic vinegar I got from a store in Virginia called Oil & Vinegar. [I swear I could drink this stuff. Once again, don’t judge!!]

Now I am going to watch a movie a co-worker lent to me, “It’s Complicated”.  Suppose to be funny. Hope so.

Oh and the bane of a cook’s existance is wanting to finally relax after a long day but can’t because you just used your last CLEAN chef coat.  That means you have a big stain fighting load of chef whites to do!! Lucky me!! Tomorrow is game day, which means a 12 hour work day, so expect a late post!!

Goodnight!!

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

