Skip to content

Another Day, Another Dollar…

November 13, 2010

I was so cold this morning. I hate winter. If it weren’t for the intoxicating smell of coffee being brewed [thank you programmable Mr. Coffee 🙂 ], I probably would not have gotten up.  I usually have a morning routine.  I get up and make a cup of coffee and sit back in bed with my Macbook and read emails, blogs, and channel my inner nerd and do the Yahoo crossword puzzle [Yep. Don’t knock it till you try it!]

Breakfast consisted of Van’s whole grain waffles with mashed bananas and maple syrup. And a big ol’ cup of joe!

I walked out of my apartment to go to work and saw this,

Frost on my car!! Ugh, seriously?!  Yep. I definitely should of stayed in my bed. But nothing a little defrost couldn’t handle!

Today was a game day at work which meant it would be a minimum of a 12 hour workday. Woo. Welcome to my office 🙂  Chock full of Menus and prep lists.  I’m a little obsessed with making prep lists, or lists in general.  I’m a firm believer that if you don’t have organization, you will fail. So I organize!

Today I decided a few things…

Someone needs to invent a machine that picks thyme for you.  Just saying…

Blackened Duck is delicious! We all knew duck was delicious but a little dusting of cajun seasoning and a cast iron skillet, brings it to a new level!

For lunch I ate a quick salad of romaine lettuce, grape tomatoes, and Duck “ends” with a roasted pineapple vinaigrette. It was awesome.  I am not a fan of the lunches they serve for employees, so most of the time I whip up something quick.  I also rarely sit down and take a full 3o min break.  It usually lasts five minutes.

Dinner Service:

Cheddar and Scallion Biscuits by Maribel 🙂  [ I MAYBE had 3 of these, maybe 😉 ]

Roasted red and yellow peppers with shaved parmesan and parsley.

Black bean hummus. I heart hummus of all kinds!

Blackened Duck Salad with Jicama, Red Onions, Roasted Pineapple and Vinaigrette

Baby Carrots with Brown Butter -Orange glaze and fresh tarragon on top.

Broccoli Salad with Golden Raisins, Pecans, Red Onions, Honey Yogurt Dressing.

Crab Cobb Salad with all the fixings and a Spiced Buttermilk Dressing. [*Fixings are a long list of ingredients.  Just what you would find in a traditional cobb salad with the addition of crab meat.]

We rocked a slow service. We cleaned. We left the building.  [And I could not tell you who won the game!!]

Tomorrow is a prep day for the game on Monday. Prep days are usually fun so it should be a painless work day.  Then again it’s work, on a Sunday, pain is automatic. Gross.

Hope everyone has a happy Sunday Funday!! See you then!

Night

🙂  Vanessa

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 7:34 pm

    reading your blog makes me hungry and miss our dinner parties!

Leave a Reply

