Skip to content

Sunday ‘NotSoFun’ Day.

November 14, 2010

I think the title says it all. I knew today was going to be a headache even before leaving my apartment. At least there was coffee. [*Take note of the unhappy face of my mug.]  Oh and I spilt half my coffee cup. Strike #1.

My breakfast was suppose to be this lovely looking Spinach and Feta omelette. Well I flipped it and folded it and went to slide it onto my plate. Yea, that didn’t work out. A piece of the omelette stuck to the pan and fell on the floor. Seriously? Bad Egg. Strike #2

So instead my Breakfast consisted of this:

Got to work and was still in a bit of a mood because of my morning [Sorry rockstars!!].  Got over it though. I didn’t exactly sit down for a lunch today, mostly because I didn’t have much of an appetite.  So I worked through it instead and kept myself amused.

Played with some beets. [I HATE beets!! I always try to like them but my taste buds won’t have it!]

Tried not to eat most all of the bacon.  I find that when I’m stressed at work, bacon is my best friend. It tends to make everything better!

And then Bri aided in keeping me amused by making the I’m over it” face a permanent addition to the kitchen.  Whenever we feel mad or frustrated, we can now look up at our new mascot and get over it! Thanks Bri! [This picture reminds me of those creepy dolls with the serious faces. But I still love it.]

Got my new jackets that have been on back order for the past two weeks. Yay! Don’t know how I feel about the new logo though. Meh.

Got out of work around 3 and went home.  As I was browsing blogs and reading emails, I got inspired to go make something.  So I decided to try to make Almond butter and granola. [Crazy?? Duh.]

I got inspired by looking at Edible Perspective’s and decided to try her Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter and get some tips on really awesome granola making. I wasn’t disappointed!!

For the granola I used: Rolled oats, pepitas, walnuts, pecans, sunflower seeds, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, applesauce, maple syrup, vanilla extract, ground flax seed and salt. Turned out awesome! Finally a granola that I don’t have a complaint about!! Once cooled, I added some orange flavored dried cranberries. Yum!

Before baking.

The finished product

After it was all said and done I was starving. I needed something quick, real quick.  So I had some leftover cooked pasta in the fridge. I decided to make a pomodoro style pasta. Quickly minced some garlic and shallot, chunked a tomato. Done. Simple but delicious.

Nom. Nom. Nom.

Game day tomorrow. So I will post late tomorrow night. Love getting feedback from all of you!! Thanks! 🙂

Now I am staring at the enormous pile of dishes in my sink.  One downfall to cooking and being solo. If I cook, who cleans?!

Ugh. Not so fun.

Night.

Vanessa 🙂

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 8:47 pm

    The almond butter looks like the perrrrfect consistency. SO glad you liked it…and I have that happy/sad face mug too 😉 I hope tomorrow is a better day!

    • November 14, 2010 8:55 pm

      Awesome recipe! I’m trying not to eat the entire jar before tomorrow morning!! Thanks for commenting 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. A Foodie Kinda Day. « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

