Skip to content

Eggs, Butter and Mise en Place

November 21, 2010

If you couldn’t tell by the title, today was ALL about baking! I’m a firm believer that when baking, always prepare and measure out all of your ingredients first, [hence, Mise en Place!!!].  Baking is much different than cooking, recipes are key, and you must be exact with your method and measurements!

Before I get into baking, I must share with you how I totally redeemed my omelette making skills!! Remember when I had my omelette fail?  Well this my friends was the perfect Spinach and Feta omelette [topped with hot sauce of course!!].

Ok so for some reason when I woke up today I felt like baking some new recipes.  So while drinking my morning addiction coffee, I browsed food sites and blogs to see what I felt like making. I bookmarked a few recipes, but decided to narrow it down to two.  So here they are.

Recipe#1 [From Teenie Cakes]

Pecan Pie “Cake Muffins” [That’s just my terminology]

I kept most of the ingredients the same.  I only had light brown sugar so I added a little molasses.  I also added some fall spices [nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon].

Batter mixed.

Ready to bake!

Finished Product!! These things were pretty awesome. I made them in mini muffin pans because they are so much more convenient and easy to just pop in your mouth. [Maybe dangerous? I will probably eat more of them. Oh well.]

Mid Day Snack consisted of yogurt with the usual toppings, a piece of toast with almond butter and blackberry plum lime jam, two “broken” mini “cake muffins”.

Ok back to baking…

Recipe #2 [From How Sweet It Is] <–On my Blog Roll!!

It all started with the pomegranate. I knew I wanted one of these when I went to Trader Joe’s this morning. What will I do with it?!

Combine it with “chocolatey” goodness of course. What were you thinking?

Creamed butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla.

Finished batter. [Look at those pomegranate arils!]

Little balls of perfection.

Finished product. Chocolate Pomegranate Cookies. Yum.

Kudos to How Sweet It Is for this creation!! 🙂

My dinner consisted of not only cookies but a batch of sausage and peppers that I froze a while back. It was not so photo worthy, but it filled me up!

Now it’s time to eat more cookies and watch the AMA’s! [So far I am not a fan of Miley Cyrus’ performance. Ew.]

Night.

Vanessa 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 9:22 pm

    I am so glad you liked the cookies! That little pom chocolate ball is too cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Culinary Nerd. « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

