Skip to content

An Affair to Remember

November 24, 2010

So remember that farro from last night?! It made a reappearance for breakfast this morning.  Cue broken farro porridge. This application for farro is SO cool and SO good.  I have to imagine this can be done with other similar grains.  As soon as I saw this on The Edible Perspective, I knew I had to try this.

The method?  So simple.  Grind the farro in a spice grinder (I used a Magic Bullet) into an almost powder so it’s “broken” so to speak.  I threw about 1/3 cup farro in a pot with let’s say 3/4 cup milk, and about 1/2 cup water. Bring that to a boil (not rapid!) and stir every so often.  Once you start to see the mixture thicken and look porridge like, add about a 1/2 Tbsp. butter, a pinch of salt and a couple tsp. brown sugar. Keep stirring until it reaches your desired consistency.   I topped mine with raisins and toasted pecans, a tbsp. almond butter and a tsp. brown sugar.  Can we say heaven?!

This lived up to all the hype. It was SO creamy and delicious. I need to find a big bag of farro, or a lifetime supply. I’m in love.

Can you see the creaminess?

Anyways, enough of my love affair with farro.  Work was long today.  We had tons of stuff to do in not enough time, or so it seemed.  Had some fun with my rockstars though, as always.

This is the tamarind I bought last night.  I like the convenience of tamarind paste, but buying it like this makes a huge flavor and texture difference. I used it in  an asian vinaigrette, which was being paired with a lo mein noodle salad.  It was a favorite of the night.

A few items from service tonight:

Spinach Salad: Spinach with strawberries, toasted pecans and FRIED Brie cheese croutons [Yes, I said fried.] It was dressed with a white balsamic vinaigrette. **Note, when making these croutons, it helps if you stick the brie in the freezer prior to frying.  Keeps the cheese contained**

Tomato, Asparagus, Haricot Vert Salad:  Chunked tomatoes, blanched white and green asparagus, blanched haricot vert, julienned red onions, feta cheese, red wine vinaigrette

Seared Ahi Tuna Salad: Seared Ahi tuna season with some chinese five spice and dredged in sesame seeds. Served with a goy ginger glaze [I could put this glaze on everything. I’m not kidding.] and a seaweed salad

Dragon Noodle Salad:  Lo mein noodles tossed with julienned vegetables, sprouts, green onions and tamarind vinaigrette. SO SO good.  If you like asian flavors with a little kick [from my good friend siracha], I recommend this!  Also can add some protein to this! I’ve done versions with duck or chicken inside.

Jicama Salad:  Julienned jicama, black beans, watercress, julienned red onions with a cilantro lime dressing.  Nice, clean flavors.

Towards the end of the night we started to get a little loopy and notice the strangest things.  Like a stalk of asparagus with curves.

Or this perfectly separated dressing.  This was a vinaigrette that was sitting and “broke”.  It separated perfectly though. [Maybe you had to be there to appreciate the coolness, whatever.]

I thought this pear was very festive looking. Even with its flaws.

I was so tired at the end of this day.  No amount of caffeine could have bounced me back.

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving!!!! I love this holiday.  It’s all about togetherness and FOOD. I will be waking up early and tying up a few loose ends here. Then I will head to the Lake to have cook a great meal with my Aunt and Uncle and a few of their friends.  We tend to cook more food than necessary.  But isn’t that the point of Thanksgiving?? Who doesn’t love turkey day leftovers?  [NOT this girl!!]

Hope everyone stays safe this Thanksgiving Eve!! Tune in tomorrow for a Thanksgiving recap!!

*** Did you know, Life Undeveloped has it’s own Facebook page? “Like” it on Facebook, you know you want to 🙂  It’s a great way to stay connected to the blog.**

Night!

Vanessa 🙂

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

