Skip to content

Oh What a Day…

December 2, 2010

Today was definitely a day…

I ended up pressing the SNOOZE button more than once this morning and overslept. Awesome.

Had just enough time to make some coffee and get ready. But sadly, no breakfast, which I was really looking forward to by the way [Farro Porridge!!] 😦

I got this mug at Mast General Store in Boone, NC.  I love the mountains and this is always on the “must stop” list every time I go up there! It’s got candy, toys, Coke in a bottle, and country kitchen and outdoor stuff.

Like the kitchen towel?!  I found it at Anthropologie this week in C’Ville. I think it’s so cute and makes a nice backdrop!

It was good to get back to work, well sorta. There was a lot of stuff to accomplish and of course not enough time in the day. Some highlights of the work day:

A little family of beets. [How HUGE is that one beet?!]

Practiced breaking down some salmon. [Yea I was a bit rusty, it’s been a while!!]

One of my favorite smells and flavors of a kitchen is roasted shallots and garlic. O-M-G! I keep saying I’m going to make an air freshener that smells like them. Would you buy them?! I would, for my kitchen that is…

I always roast my shallots and garlic in olive oil because then the olive oil gets infused with the garlic and shallot flavors and is so delicious!! Try it, you won’t regret it!

What’s better than a nice roasted chicken?!

I kept this really simple because I was only going to use the meat of the chicken for salads.  Just some olive oil, salt and pepper.  I sat it on top of a nice mirepoix with herbs when I roasted it.  The juices from the chicken go all over the vegetables and make them super flavorful!! [I NEVER throw away the veg!!]  I also had to stop myself from snacking on some crispy chicken skin.. Mmh..Guilty.

There’s a concert tonight at work. TSO!!! [*Trans Siberian Orchestra!]  These guys are so talented and put on a brilliant show!! Saw them last year and was awestruck! Rock on!

Got out of work around 4 and needed some snackage in my life.  So I came home and made a little yogurt with honey, vanilla, blueberries, granola, POM seeds, ground flax.

Close up.

Was just enough food to hold me over till dinner.

I really felt like experimenting and noticed I was almost out of peanut butter [I know, the horror!] I’ve had some peanuts laying around and tossed them with some honey and maple syrup and popped them in the oven to roast.  Let them get all nice and goldeny brown and took them out to cool.  Popped them in the food processor and grounded it all up until it “butterized”. I drizzled in a little canola oil, syrup, Mexican vanilla, ground flax, cinnamon, salt, honey. Definitely not a perfected peanut butter recipe, but well on it’s way there, and I’m no longer out of peanut butter.

I love mason jars ❤

And mini spoons!

I think I’ll call this nut butter: Vanilla Honey Maple Peanut Butter

For dinner I knew I wanted something warm and comforting. Cue soup.

I call this Refrigerator Leftovers Soup.  It was garlic, onion, carrots, chicken stock, italian seasonings, paprika, brussel sprouts salad, curry sweet potatoes, tortellini. It was surprisingly good.

It kind of reminded me of french onion soup.  I liked it. I thawed out a sweet potato biscuit to dunk.  It dunked well.

Now I’m off to do the dishes. Probably grab a few pieces of chocolate.  Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice tonight!! Can’t wait!

Game at work tomorrow, so expect a late night post!! Hope everyone has a great night and day tomorrow!

Night

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

