Skip to content

From Cous Cous to Hummus…

December 3, 2010

Contrary to yesterday.  Today I did not oversleep 🙂  Although I still really did not feel like getting out of bed.  But with hopes of my breakfast that was planned, I’d do anything. Cue farro porridge.

I put pretty much the same mix as last time in here. Farro, milk, water, salt, brown sugar, butter. Topped with a pinch brown sugar, blueberries and toasted pecans. Creamy and delicious, and definitely worth getting up for.  🙂

There was definitely LOTS of stuff to get down at work today.  So much to do, so little time!! Had fun with my rockstars though! Didn’t take too many kitchen shots today. But I did capture this lovely moment:

Heather [stage left], had XL gloves on and needed more mayonnaise in the potato salad.  Jaime [stage right], volunteered to help her fellow rock star out. The mayonnaise plopped out a little too fast so Jaime scooped it out with her hands.

Definitely a Spinach/Basil type of day. [Inside joke with the rock stars, pretty much on a long day, spinach was mistaken for basil! Doh!]

Speaking of rock stars, here are some of tonight’s highlights:

Toasted Cous Cous Salad: Toasted Israeli cous cous with herbs, blanched asparagus, sundried tomatoes, roasted mushrooms, basil and truffle oil. [** Note: Toasting the cous cous is SO much better. it gives it a great color and a slightly nutty taste!]

Black Barley Salad: Black barley, roasted pears, toasted walnuts, green onions, roasted chicken. Tossed in a honey ginger vinaigrette

Roasted Beet Salad: Roasted red and golden beets, tossed in a citrus vinaigrette and topped with goat cheese and parsley.

Black Bean Hummus Salad: My black bean hummus with shredded lettuce on top and an artichoke salad on top with kalamata olives, basil, sundried tomatoes, roasted garlic.

Greek Chicken Salad: Roasted chicken, romaine lettuce, kalamata olives, grape tomatoes, feta cheese, cucumbers, red onions, pepperoncinis, red wine vinaigrette [**Note: horrible picture, but this was my favorite!! I couldn’t stop snacking on it!!]

Grilled Flatbread Squares: Grilled flatbread topped with an herbed garlic oil, sundried tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, roasted garlic and basil chiffonade. [**Note: Flatbreads are great, because it’s a blank slate and you can put anything on it!! Grilling it gives them a extra flavor profile!]

Yum.

And it was the return of My “Slap Yo’ Mama” Tater Salad 🙂

Only special people know the recipe!! [Sorry, gotta keep some things a secret right?]

Well tonight was full of suprises, like a HEALTH INSPECTION! I don’t think there’s anything worse in a cook’s world than hearing the health department has entered the building. Great. Everything stops, and you scramble to make sure temp. logs are filled and sanitation buckets are fresh. Make sure everything is labled and dated and up to their proper temperatures.

Oye vey. This was a hard one, but we pulled through it! Anyways, it was definitely a “kick my butt” night at work even though we were slow.  I blame the health department. I was definitely in need of a cocktail when I got home. Cue a glass of Pinot Grigio [from Trader Joe’s of course!]

Tomorrow I have off.  I plan to do laundry and some essentials shopping.  Maybe I’ll try a baking recipe or two. Most importantly I can sleep in a little bit, which is always a positive. I’m beat, so to bed I am going soon.  Until tomorrow readers.

Night

Vanessa 🙂

P.S.  IS IT REALLY DECEMBER 3RD ALREADY??! AHH TOTALLY NOT READY FOR CHRISTMAS!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

