Skip to content

Definitely a Case of the Mondays

December 6, 2010

It took me what seemed like forever to fall asleep last night.  After I got back to the apartment and decompressed and all it was past midnight as I was going to bed. Four hours later my alarm went off.  Glad I got to take a nap, or so it seemed.

I didn’t really have enough time to make a descent breakfast, so I grabbed two clementines on my way out the door.  Love these little cuties.

Work wasn’t so bad.  A lot of things to prep in a short amount of time, like always.

We made some saffron aioli, and that was probably the highlight of my work day.

This stuff is delish.  But you have to like saffron, which I like love.  We are serving them as a condiment to fried green tomatoes tomorrow. [Welcome to the south!].

As soon as I got out of work I needed to go to Target to pick up some essentials.  I love Target and I always seem to leave there with more than I actually need. I actually really, really need a new vacuum. Mine has been broken for quite some time now. I can’t pick one though! Any recommendations for a descent vacuum that doesn’t cost like $500?!

Anyways, I needed some serious caffeine at this point in the day.  Thank God Target has a Starbucks.  I decided to take a walk on the wild side and order something that I never had gotten before. Cue Peppermint Mocha.  I liked the minty undertones and the mocha was good.  It was a little too sweet though.  Maybe I’ll have them cut down the syrup next time.

It still gave me a boost that I was in dire need of.

When I got home I looked at blogs and checked emails.  I swear I could browse the internet for hours. Anyone else feel that way?!

I couldn’t decide at first what I wanted for dinner, so I opened the door and stared inside my fridge for like five minutes hoping something would jump at me.  It did. Potatoes! What did I do with them?? Potato Pancakes of course!!

But first I needed some motivation! Cue perfectly, bite sized, mini chocolate cupcakes!

Nom, nom, nom.

Ok, ready.

I kind of wanted to make Apple and Potato pancakes but I didn’t have apple. So I just went with the classic potato. I grated the potato and shallots and white onion.  Mixed them together with flour, one egg, and some salt and spices.

Heated up a pan with a couple Tbsp. of canola oil and dropped a few scoops of the potato mix into the oil.  I smashed them flat [like a pancake!!] with a spatula and let them brown on both sides.

I transferred them to a sheet pan and stuck them in a preheated 450 degree oven for about 10 minutes, until they got crispy and delicious.

I decided to heat up the leftover “fridge leftovers” soup to eat with the potato pancakes.  Although just for the record, I could have just eaten a plate full of potato pancakes and thought nothing of it. Just saying.

I topped the potato pancakes with some of Trader Joe’s pear applesauce. [Is there any other way to eat them?!]

For dessert, well, you guessed it. Another mini cupcake.  It was only my second third of the day. I’m telling you, mini= lethal!!

I topped this one with some POM seeds. I actually kinda liked it!

Watched Gossip Girl, umm what is with this having to wait until January 24 for a new episode business?? Stupid television.

Ok time to clean up a bit and go to bed! Early day tomorrow! Game day, so late post tomorrow!!

Night

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

