Skip to content

Chocolate Covered Everything!

December 8, 2010

I’ve been addicted to chocolate all day and it doesn’t look like it’s stopping anytime soon.  Keep reading and you’ll see what I mean.

It felt SO good to sleep in this morning.  Woke up when my body told me it was ready to.  Made a big pot of coffee, sipped and surfed [the internet that is].  For some reason I was craving a big glass of orange juice this morning! No pulp though! I hate the pulp and how when you drink it you get it stuck in your teeth. Gross.

I wasn’t really in the mood for oats or farro for breakfast so I went with a simple omelette.  Served with some leftover potato pancakes.  A play of eggs and home fries? Maybe so.

The omelette had spinach, garlic, feta cheese, and some hot sauce!  I don’t know what is about having hot sauce on eggs that I love so much.

I crossed off a few things on my to do list.  Remember that from yesterday?

— Ordered my Christmas cards. [Let’s pray they come in on time!]

— Organized holiday baking schedule

— Bought tins for holiday baked goods. [Thank God for Michael’s!]

— Planning on folding laundry after blogging while watching Top Chef All Stars!! [Planning being the key word.]

I’ve been in such a “snacky” mood today. I hate when I get like this because I tend to eat everything in sight. I decided to taste this bag of lentil chips I bought from Trader Joe’s the other day.

They were okay. I found them to be e a little too peppery for my taste.  I think I’d like them more if I used them as dippers.  Maybe some hummus? I’ll try that and let you know!! 🙂

I also could not stop snacking on these guys.  I stand by my opinion that these are the best pistachios ever!!  Got them from BJ’s!

This is one instance where the salt and pepper are used perfectly!

I also had a clementine, or two…

But who’s counting?!

For dinner I had defrosted some salmon I had in the freezer.  I also really needed to use this butternut squash I had in my fridge for a while now.

I figured that I would roast it, so I cubed it up.

Ended up roasting them with some olive oil, salt, pepper and curry powder.

And then, this happened…

I was trying to refill my salt pig and the top of the salt container fell off and spilt everywhere. Epic FAIL!!!!  Sometimes I feel like someone is playing a cruel joke on me. I salvaged what I could. Guess I should put salt on my grocery list.

I decided to boil up some whole wheat spaghetti and toss that with the roasted squash, feta cheese and EVOO.  For the salmon I baked it with a mish mash of stuff [soy, Worcestershire, salt, pepper, garlic].  When it was almost cooked through I spread a mixture of brown sugar and spicy mustard on top of the salmon and broiled it. Topped it with some capers.

It tasted good and looks pretty.

For dessert I had the last of the mini spiced chocolate cupcakes. I didn’t have anymore frosting so I melted some chocolate and dipped the cupcakes in it. Yum!!

Something was still missing.  I needed toppings!! So I did an assortment.

Toppings included: Chopped, toasted pecans, peanut butter, POM seeds, dark chocolate with sea salt.

I had some extra melted chocolate that I just couldn’t let go to waste.

Chocolate covered POM seeds!! [Eaten by the spoonful].

Depending on how the night goes I may be able to squeeze in some reading too.

Don’t really have anything planned for tomorrow, so we’ll see where the day takes me!

Night Readers!!

Vanessa

🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 4:40 pm

    the salmon looks great!

Leave a Reply

