Skip to content

Early To Bed

December 10, 2010

I have had quite the day, let me tell you…

So much so that I’m contemplating an early bedtime [like after this post!!]

There are no pictures from breakfast because there was none!! My stomach was in knots all morning, I knew I wouldn’t be able to stomach anything.  So my breakfast was coffee.  Breakfast of Champions.

I had to go to court today for getting a citation a couple months ago for having expired tags on my car. I was oblivious to the fact they were expired because I guess the dmv lost my address and I never got a reminder in the mail.  Anyways I obviously got my registration renewed and inspection up to date.  Today was the court date and I’ve never been to court nor been in trouble with the law so imagine the anxiety I was having!! [Hence having no breakfast!]

Turns out it was nothing to be crazy over, as usual.  My case got dismissed! Wahhoo! I was SO relieved, you have no idea. If I was a runner I probably would have done a victory lap or something.  Instead I walked the few blocks to work.

Work was long today, but a good long. Well, sorta.

Had all my dressing carafes ready for the vinaigrettes I was going to make.

Cooked up some wheatberries.  I love all the different types of grains that are out there. So many go so unnoticed!

Poached some pears in white wine. They were drunk and delicious.

I actually made myself a plate for lunch because I was starved!!

Had some cous cous with tomatoes, olives, cucumbers, artichoke hearts, lots of oregano and some red wine vinaigrette. Also had some smoked chicken and a big pile of my hummus 🙂

Doesn’t look like a lot for lunch but a) I was on the go and b) I snacked on other things like bacon. [Mmh.]

I played with some Smoked Cheddar Cheese.

It’s like a cheese stairway. Stairway to Heaven!!!

I went into the produce cooler and was rummaging through boxed when I came across two cases of these lovelies.

Fresh Figs!!!!

Fresh figs are SO gorgeous! I actually like fresh figs. I’m not a fan of the dried ones. Maybe it’s the texture? Anyways, as soon as I brought these to everyone’s attention, I was not the only one excited to eat them.  Maybe I should have kept the secret to myself.. Hum..

I simmered some raspberries with lemon juice, water and sugar.

Raspberry vinaigrette anyone??

I was suppose to get out of work around 3ish but ended up staying until 5ish to help out in another area.  Totally needed the extra two hours pay. [Sad huh?]

When I got home I was exhausted!! I just felt like crawling into bed.  I was having some pain in my knee and my calves were super tight. [I don’t know why?!]  I knew I needed a quick and easy dinner [and warm!]. So I defrosted the Butternut squash and sweet potato soup we had on Turkey Day! I ate that along with a sweet potato biscuit and an avocado, goat cheese, pesto quesadilla.  Perfect.

Isn’t this goat cheese neat?

I bought them at Trader Joe’s.  It’s a 1 ounce goat cheese medallion. Perfect for a single serving! And you don’t have to worry about a messy wrapper!

Have I mentioned how much I love Trader Joe’s? Well I do.

Felt like something sweet after dinner so I had a darling clementine.

I’m so tired, I might just skimp out on dessert tonight.  Or maybe I’ll have a piece of chocolate. Who knows.

With the risk of sounding like a complete dork, I am going to cuddle up with my pillow in bed and watch this fabulous Indiana Jones marathon on USA!

Late post tomorrow! Game night!

Night readers!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 11:41 am

    I would be all anxious too. Horray for it getting dropped.

Leave a Reply

