Skip to content

One Egg.

December 12, 2010

One egg is what I had in my kitchen.  So I had some decisions to make. What do I have for breakfast, eggs or cereal? I went with the later. I was saving that egg for a very important purpose. [You’ll find out later!]

Breakfast was Frosted Mini Wheat with blueberries and Almond milk.

I’ve been out of my usual 2% milk so I’ve been burning through the vanilla almond milk I had on hand!

I did a few things around the apartment and got distracted by the old school movie lineup on TCM!  Had all my favorite men: Jimmy Stewart, Gregory Peck and Cary Grant.  They showed Shop Around the Corner, The Bishop’s Wife, Roman Holiday and some other Cary Grant movie that I cannot remember the name of.

I was a bit snackish today so I defrosted two slices of Great Harvest Cinnamon Chip bread.  On one half I spread Justin’s almond butter and on the other Justin’s Chocolate Peanut Butter.

Both were equally delicious…

Remember that one egg??

I thought he would be put to best use in baking something.  Cue SNICKERDOODLES!! I got the inspiration from reading How Sweet It Is blog.  As soon as I saw these I knew they’d be in my near future!!

Got all the ingredients together.

Really easy method of prep..

Cream the butter and sugar.

Add vanilla and the one egg and mix.  I used the Mexican vanilla concentrate, so I used a bit less.

Add the dry ingredients until a dough forms. Chill in the fridge for thirty minutes.

In the meantime, eat a clementine while you’re waiting…

When dough is ready, take out and roll small balls and coat them in cinnamon sugar.

Then I flattened them with a fork.

Bake at 350 degrees for about ten minutes and you get these darlings.

Check out the original recipe here.

I seriously contemplated eating cookies for dinner.  But then I figured that would seriously question my sanity.  I wasn’t feeling very inspired in the kitchen today.  Usually when I don’t have a game plan, I throw a bunch of things in a pot and hope they taste good.

I decided to go with a soup.  I guess I would call it a Lentil and veggie soup, because that is how it started.

Got some ingredients prepped: carrots, celery, onion, garlic, lentils.

Love the color of these lentils 🙂

I sauteed all the veggies together with some spices [cumin, paprika, chili powder, etc.] Added the lentils and covered with chicken stock.  Let that simmer for a bit.  Add some salt and with my immersion blender, blended about half of it up to give it some body. I added some garbanzo beans and some coconut milk.  I decided that I would draw the line after the coconut milk.  Sometimes I get a little carried away with my one pot wonders.  This turned out pretty good though.

Heated up the last sweet potato biscuit on the side.

I am still in denial of what I did today!  My Mom called me and told me to go online and check out a deal on a Vita Mix blender! So I did and before I knew it, I bought it. I think the payment plan sold me.  I justify it a lot more when I don’t have to shell out all of the money at one time!  Now I’m so excited for it to arrive!!  It’s not the Professional series one. But it’s the Creations model [I think?].  But who cares!! It will still magically blend up whatever I put in it!  Merry Christmas to me 🙂

Exciting life I lead huh?

Well I need to get a few more things done [like dishes!!] before bed tonight.  Prep day at work tomorrow. Hopefully it won’t be rainy again.

And maybe a couple more of these…

Hope everyone has a good night!!

Night 🙂

Vanessa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 10:01 pm

    So glad you liked the cookies! I may have ate some for dinner…

  2. December 12, 2010 10:39 pm

    These cookies definitely look worth saving the egg for 🙂

Leave a Reply

