Skip to content

Best Gift Ever

December 14, 2010

What a day today was!  It was better than yesterday because: A) I didn’t oversleep, B) My car started! and C) There were NO clouds in my coffee!!

I have been totally slacking on the eating a good breakfast this past week.. See?

Told ya!! A breakfast snickerdoodle cookie.  Guilty as charged…

Boy it’s been getting colder and colder here! I hate this winter thing. Couldn’t it have stayed fall forever??

When I got to work one of the girls made blueberry muffins stuffed with cream cheese. So tiny and delicious, and lethal…

So much to be done today!! Like roast some awesome vegetables for the Mediterranean Vegetable Salad.  Chock filled of yellow squash, zucchini, red onion, red and yellow bell peppers, eggplant, rosemary, thyme, oregano, roasted garlic and shallots.  Whole lotta’ YUM!

Grilled some skirt steak! So good!

Sauteed some shrimp for the Curry Shrimp Waldorf Salad. The shrimp are sauteed with olive oil, salt and pepper and TONS of curry powder 🙂

Marinated Kalamata Olives!! Tons of fresh herbs and garlic.

Some favorite salads of the night:

Marinated Chickpea salad:  Garbanzo beans marinated with sautéed garlic and shallots, paprika, cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, lemon juice and fresh oregano!!

Spinach Salad: Spinach, Roasted golden beets, Julienned red onions, Goat cheese, toasted pecans and tossed with white balsamic vinaigrette.

Apple and Jicama Salad:  Julienned jicama, red and green apples, carrots, parsley, Honey lime yogurt dressing.

Had a light snack midway through service.  Mary [one of my rockstars] makes an awesome pico de gallo with avocado!! The avocado definitely makes it!! Try it!

Tortilla chips make an excellent scooping vehicle!

Had a great end to the night.  Cleaned up well and super fast!!! I was eager to get home to get some things done.  I was expecting a package full of my Christmas cards that I ordered.  Instead the BEST GIFT EVER [to myself] was waiting on my doorstep!!!

VITAMIX!!!!!!!

Ahh it’s SO amazing!! I can’t wait to use it!! Although I kind of don’t want to use it because it’s so pretty all shiny and new!!  It’s also very gratifying that I bought this on my very own!! I tend to take pride in my big purchases [dslr camera, Mac, VitaMix!].

I was looking through the books and stuff that it came with.  This thing seriously is magic.  The high speed of the VitaMix is SO powerful that it generates enough heat to make a hot soup in minutes! If someone told me you could make hot soup in a blender I would have laughed at you. I always knew these things were awesome because I’ve used them in kitchens to make smoothies and such.  But I didn’t know they were THIS AWESOME!!

I also realize that getting this excited over a kitchen appliance qualifies me to win the biggest nerd award, but so what…

Ending the night like it began, eating a snickerdoodle.

Tomorrow is going to be SO busy.  It’s my holiday baking day!! Lugging all my stuff up to the lake to bake in my Aunt’s awesome kitchen!! It’s big, has a level oven and has lots of space.  All of the above my small apartment kitchen lacks.  So to lessen the stress of an already stressful day, I figured space and functional appliances would be a good start.

Hope to take a slew of foodie/baking pictures to share with you all !!

Night readers!

Vanessa 🙂

P.S. WHERE ARE MY CHRISTMAS CARDS?!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

