Skip to content

Epic Fails

December 18, 2010

Brr. When I got up this morning, I looked out my window and saw “wet snow”.

That would be my car windshield. There were snowflakes, but as soon as they hit the ground it melted. Hence wet snow.

I decided since it was sorta gloomy outside to do a little house work. Cue Ipod tunes.

Love this version of Christmas Canon by Trans-Siberian Orchestra.

And for you rockers out there…

Awesome song.

I had to go out to do a few things.  While out I picked up some last minute Christmas things.  I think I am done with shopping.  Don’t quote me on that though. Needed a few things at Trader Joe’s. That place was slammed. Although I guess it was pretty silly of me to go to the grocery store the saturday before Christmas. huh? Don’t answer that.

I’ve been jonesing for some peppermint tea. Perhaps I got carried away?

I had a cup of the Candy Cane green tea when I got home.

In a festive mug of course.  I’m digging this candy cane tea. I may have another cup tonight.

Experiment time!!

I’ve been a coconut groove lately.

The coconut went into the magnificent Vita Mix and turned on high.

That’s right, coconut butter!

This is the easiest thing ever. I can’t wait to glop this on things. I’m thinking it may make an appearance for breakfast tomorrow morning!

When I was doing my holiday baking the other day, I tried to make toasted coconut butter.  That was an epic fail. Plus I used sweetened coconut. Totally did not work out. But it is a great idea! If anyone knows how to make that happen, do tell!

After that, I needed some food fuel.  Involving avocado.

I love when you cut into an avocado and it’s perfectly ripe. [ Food nerd alert!! ]

I made avocado and tomato tacos. Just heated up the corn tortillas.  Mashed the avocado up with lemon juice and salt. Diced a tomato.  Sprinkled some shredded cheese.

After getting fueled up, I needed to dive into my gift wrap container.  Ended up pulling out some Christmas nicknacks.  Half of these things came from Pier 1 Imports.  For those of you who don’t know I used to work there.  Thanks to them, I now can’t go into a store without fixing shelves and making sure everything is lined up perfectly. I also can freakishly identify when something came from Pier 1 [I know I’m not the only one who does this!!]

Meet this cute, fat, bobble head Santa!! He’s so adorable!

Pretty Snowman.

A jolly, not so fat, Santa.

Ralphie!!!  A Christmas Story is hands down a tie for first for my favorite Christmas movie ever!! I legit keep the tv on TBS when they play this movie for 24 hours! Don’t judge!!

Hung out with Rudolph and the gang!! The claymation Rudolph movie is the other movie tied for first! The abominable snowman used to freak me out when I was younger!!

Reindeer with dangly legs!!

And a shining star!!

In the midst of everything I snacked on addictive pistachios

For dinner I knew I was going to have leftover Mac and “cheese” from last night.  But I wanted something light to go with it. Cue Kale Chips!

This is probably my favorite way to eat kale. It’s so easy too!! Just take the leaves off the stems, rinse, pat REALLY dry!  Lay them out on a sheet pan.  Drizzle with Olive oil, salt and pepper and Garlic Gold! Put in the oven until crispy.

But make sure you don’t do this.

Epic kale fail.  Don’t get distracted while these are in the oven..

No worries I had more!

Perfect with some ketchup on top!! I also really like it with some vinegar too.

Leftover mac.

Just as good as yesterday. When I reheated it, I added a splash more almond milk for moisture. Worked well.

Going to relax the rest of the night.. Tomorrow I was planning on doing some serious organization.  Then I realized I forgot to buy coffee at Trader Joe’s today!! Grr. Yet another epic fail!!

Can’t believe Christmas is a week away!!

Night readers!

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

