Skip to content

Conclusions

December 19, 2010

Today I’ve come to a few conclusions…

Not having to go to work is very dangerous.  I tend to sleep in a bit later than expected or wanted to…

Back to old faithful for breakfast. Oats!

Notice that fabulous topping???

Coconut butter is an awesome topping for oatmeal.

Pot holders also make great backdrops for photographing breakfast!

I’ve missed this bowl and spoon 🙂

Ever since yesterday I wanted to try this Nog. But not just any nog.  Vegan nog.

This fabulous recipe came from Oh She Glows! I was never a huge egg nog fan just because I felt not so great after it.  But I was intrigued by this one.

It had a great ingredient list.  Coconut and almond milk, avocado, fall spices, maple syrup, bananas?? Yes please!

Now that I think about it.  This is more like a frozen, slightly sweet, smoothie.

I garnished it with some fall spices and a cinnamon stick.  Took a sip, and had a genius idea.  COCONUT BUTTER!!!

Perfect!!

Another conclusion, well more a discovery.  When you drizzle coconut butter on something cold [like nog] it hardens!!

So cool! And it adds a great texture element to the Nog!  I will definitely make this again!! I’m thinking the addition of “mintyness” or chocolate is necessary!!  Make sure you click the link above and check out her page for the original recipe!! 🙂

Another conclusion. It’s impossible for me to go into a place like Target or Trader Joe’s and not spend at least $20. Example, today I went into Trader Joe’s to get the coffee I meant to get yesterday. Needless to say I came home with the coffee, back up canola oil, artichoke hearts, peanuts, an avocado, asian pears, garlic, and a bag of these:

Now I don’t know what to make with them.  Muffins? Bread? Crisp? Cookies????

Conclusion number 9432143, I’m the most indecisive person that I know.

Example,  tonight for dinner I had no idea what I wanted.  I opened cabinet after cabinet, my fridge, my freezer over and over, hoping that something would just jump out and grab my attention.  No such luck. So I just did leftover mac [I’m almost done with it] and threw together a quick salad. Lame-o is my name-o.

I still have not finished my Christmas wrapping.  Which leads me to another conclusion.  Joy Procrastination is my midlde name.

Since it’s a solo Christmas this year, I didn’t want to go out and get a tree.  It’s no fun doing that sorta thing solo.  Plus my apartment is cramped enough on it’s own.  So this year my tree is this little guy.

I’ll be at my Aunt and Uncle’s for Christmas Eve and Day so I’ll have a Christmas tree there. This will do just fine.

I have to work tomorrow, it’s a prep day, and I’m really unmotivated to go.  It feels kind of nice having time on my hands to do what I want or need to do.  However my bank account doesn’t like the not working thing.  What a buzzkill.

See ya tomorrow!

Vanessa 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 8:26 pm

    First off, I LOVE that bowl… like deep mushy love! hehe 🙂

    I want to try that nog recipe too, but I don’t have any of the recipes and am WAY to lazy today to go pick it up!! 🙂 hehe

    Have a great night!

    • December 19, 2010 9:05 pm

      Thanks!! You MUST try the nog recipe! The hardest part is shopping for the ingredients! After that it’s so easy, the blender does all the work! You have a great night as well!! Thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. December 21, 2010 1:13 pm

    Coconut butter is amazing. I just want to put it on everything these days.

Leave a Reply

