Skip to content

Cheating

December 20, 2010

I woke up with my alarm this morning but I really did not want to get out of bed.  It was cold and my bed was soft and warm.  Unfortunately the cold won.

For breakfast I was channeling eggs. Scrambled eggs.

Note to self…

Don’t leave your egg unattended.  It may jump to its death like this one did. Don’t worry there was more where that came from.

Toasted up some TJ’s multigrain bread to go with it.

I just scrambled the eggs with salt, pepper, shredded cheese and pesto. Yum.

Finished getting ready and then walked out to this..

Are these still classified snowflakes when they are frozen to your car??

Thought they still looked sorta neat.

Got to work and was totally NOT feeling it today.  There was absolutely no motivation. I hate when I get in funks like this.

I peeled, deseeded and cubed acorn squash for what seemed like an eternity.

Grilled some yellow squash and zucchini.

Instead of eating an apple, I cheated and drank a juice box.  Brought me bag to the good ol’ days of brown bagging it in grammar school.

Then things got weird.  There was a leftover sheet cake that we had and it somehow ended up on Jaime’s face.  I think we owe that one to Frenchy. I think it was a laugh that we all needed.

The face says it all. Love you Jaime! Haha.

I don’t really know how anything could have topped that today. So on with my boring rest of the day.

Lunch was inspired by this block of deliciousness.

Meet a huge block of feta cheese.

It inspired us to go Greek. Quite possibly the best decision ever!!

Gyros! Grilled chicken, tzatziki sauce, lettuce, feta.

Got out of work around 5 and felt drained. I was really tired and not sure why.  Maybe it was the fact that I worked eight hours after having almost a complete week off. Maybe it was the lack of a midday coffee pick me up. Who knows.

All I know is that for dinner. I cheated. I cheated BIG time!!

Cue TJ’s frozen food section.

I fried up some Chicken and Vegetable Potstickers.  I baked some Mandarin Chicken [from a bag, the horror!]. I boiled some quinoa [the only healthy addition to dinner].

Just goes to show you.  There are some days where you just don’t feel like cooking, and sometimes thats perfectly ok [in my book].  Just as long as it’s not ALL the time.

Got another package in the mail from my Mom! Full of a mix of socks, undershirts, Christmas decor and ornaments, a cookbook and a whole lot more!  I love getting mail and packages. She sent me this little guy!

He glows different colors.  See?

He’s so cute. I got a matching night light too. Overkill? Eh, whatever.

Also at work the team over in NY sent me a U.S. Open 2010 jacket as a “thanks for working gesture”.  For those of you who don’t know this, the company I work for does the food for the U.S. Open in New York. This was my third year working it.  This year we got to meet Morimoto [the Iron Chef]!! It has it’s perks.

It’s actually a nice jacket its just too big.  It’s a large. Darn. I guess it’s the thought that counts.

For dessert I wanted something with pumpkin.

Libby’s pumpkin.

I defrosted one of the spiced chocolate cupcakes. Remember them? Well I made a quick, half fast pumpkin buttercream icing to go on top.  Was it my best? Hell no.  But it did the trick. And sometimes that’s all we need.

I wrapped a few more gifts tonight. I wasn’t really feeling that either. I think the only cure for this lack of motivation is to go to bed.  So to bed I go!

Tomorrow is a game night, so as always, hoping to get a late night post in!!

Goodnight 🙂

Vanessa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

