Skip to content

Cuckoo

December 21, 2010

Today when I woke up, I had the weirdest feeling.  I’m pretty sure I had a weird cosmic dream. But I can’t remember the details.  Don’t you hate when that happens? Anyways, I was totally looking forward to breakfast. Helloooo pumpkin oats!

Drizzled with crack coconut butter and topped with granola and blueberries.

Got to work and was ready to work! I really am trying to work on my time management and multitasking skills.  I think both are vital to becoming better at my job.

Example: Today, I set up my station [cutting board, sani bucket, knife].  Fire the grill, stove, ovens, salamander up.  Melt butter on the stove.  Put potatoes in water on the stove.  Gather makings for croutons. Toss the croutons with the butter and mix-ins.  Cook in oven.  Stir potatoes.  Grill chicken. Grill eggplant. Put chicken and eggplant in cooler.  Take out croutons. Phew.Cue the rockstars arrival!!  Take a breath.

They plated the grilled veggies for the antipasti. Eggplant, squash and zucchini.

Made cheddar scallion biscuits from scratch.

Picked pretty basil leaves.

Break for some quality control tasting of She Crab Soup. It passed.

Chiffonade the pretty basil.

At this point in the day.  We were pretty much done with our prep for service, so I had some time to kill. While the rockstars finished up and cleaned, I roamed around the dining room searching for things to take pictures of. Like….

Flower stems in a vase on one of the chef’s tables.

Lemons in a vase.

Cranberries and Bok Choy.  They make a pretty combination for decor.

And a Christmas ornament.

We prepped. We cleaned. We were now playing the waiting game.  We don’t start service until 4:15, so we had a lot of time to kill. I thought it necessary to document the waiting experience.

That one cracked me up. What did we ever do before cell phones?? Seriously.

Jaime was channeling that girl from the movie The Ring.  Yep.  Officially bored.

And officially in need of caffeine!!

An even better question. What did we do before coffee?? I seriously can’t live without this stuff, it’s bad.

I then wandered over to the pastry corner.  Took a few pictures of course.

Close up shot of a freshly baked Apple Betty. Yum.

This was rock hard sugar with the addition of food coloring. Pretty cool.  You just melt the sugar, add the food coloring, pour it over ice and it hardens.  From there you can break it into pieces or whatever you want.  Looks cooler in person.

Our club/restaurant was originally called Club 333.

But we really call it Frontcourt Restaurant and Bar.

A few food shots from the night.

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus.

Weird picture, but I kind of liked the angle.

Cous Cous with asparagus, roasted roma tomatoes and truffle oil.

Five Grain Salad: Wheatberries, Bulghur, Cous Cous, Barley, Wild Rice, diced bell peppers, green onions, Citrus vinaigrette.

As if I haven’t been eating enough sugar at home.  Some of the servers brought some cupcakes and candy. They shared.

So we made a cupcake face. Two cupcakes as eyes, a cranberry for a nose and salt for the mouth. Yep, still officially bored.

I’m convinced there was something in the water today or maybe it was the whole lunar eclipse, full moon thing that made everyone a little cuckoo today!! Even with the craziness, it was a good day.  Hugs and kisses were given and everyone was wished a Merry Christmas.  Boy am I glad to be home.

Tomorrow I plan on doing a whole lot of last minute things.  Some baking of course. And a little running around. I hope I get it all done. Christmas is in four days after all!!

Have a good night readers!!

Vanessa 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 12:42 am

    LOVE!!!

    The bok choy and cranberries is amazing!! I may have to pull that one out! 🙂

  2. December 22, 2010 1:00 am

    Cheddar scallion biscuits?! Yes, please 🙂

  3. December 22, 2010 1:39 am

    Wow I love how you made that sugar!

Leave a Reply

