Skip to content

In the Weeds

December 27, 2010

Today was pretty horrible.  I knew it was going to be rough, so at least I was able to somewhat mentally prepare myself. At least I started my day of with a good breakfast though.

Chobani yogurt spiked with pumpkin puree, topped with peanut butter, blackberry jam, granola.

As I got halfway through the bowl, I wanted more crunch so I added half a crumbled biscotti on it.

When I walked outside to start my car, I loved how nice it looked today. The skies were blue, the sun was shining and snow was still around.

I wish I could have hung out and taken some more pictures around the neighborhood.  Stupid work.

I like that tree stump.  Thought it looked really cool.  Also wish a red cardinal or bluejay would have landed on it.  That would have been a PERFECT Kodak moment!

Work was longggggg.  My one boss had to help me prep today and thank God he did!!  At noon, one rockstar came in to help and she was a lifesaver!! Not only did she come to work, but she brought coffee!! Thanks Heather!! 🙂   We were still in the weeds all day!! I didn’t sit down once. I felt like I ran ten miles with all of the walking back and forth from the kitchen that I did. Maybe I worked off some of the holiday food I’ve eaten!!

Against all odds, we made it for service and got everything out!! I wanted to just face plant on the floor and stay there for a little while. A power nap would have been awesome at this point in time. Thankfully, service was slow as molasses tonight.  So we had time to clean and prep a little for tomorrow. Although the majority of us were quite delirious from a fast paced day.

I’ve been seriously slacking on the work pictures, but it was just not possible today with everything else happening.  Managed to take a few before service though.

Blackened Duck Salad:  Blackened duck breast [in cajun seasoning], grape tomatoes, julienned jicama, roasted pineapple, julienned red onions, spring mix, roasted pineapple vinaigrette.

We’ve done this salad before, but it turned out ten times better today.  The vinaigrette was awesome. Sometimes it takes a little practice to get it right!!

Orange Honey Glazed Carrots.  Pretty self explanatory here.  These always go fast.

Haricot Vert Salad:  Blanched haricot vert beans, caramelized shallots, goat cheese, almonds, sherry vinaigrette.  This is one of my favorite salads.  I love the shallots, nuts and the tangy dressing. Goat cheese is a plus too.  That’s a given though.

Hunk of Blue Cheese.

BBQ Chicken Salad:  Grilled bbq spiced chicken breast, grilled corn, grape tomatoes, avocado, Chili Lime dressing.

End work pictures.

I could not wait to get home!  I needed some sweets and a night cap.

Still loving these cookies.  The lemon cookie to the right was awesome! I love lemon!

Brewskie for my night cap.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again…

You know it’s been a rough day when the beer goes down like water.  Translation, I think I need another one.

Tomorrow should be easy.  It’s a prep day only for a few hours. Hopefully I’ll have a more exciting post tomorrow! And maybe I’ll be able to cook a descent dinner.  What to make…what to make…  Have I mentioned how indecisive I am??

Have you heard of this blizzard on the east coast?? Craziness.  I hope all my Jersey friends and family are staying safe and warm!!  Kind of glad I’m not stuck in it though.

Alright well I’m off to bed!! My body is craving sleep!!

Night readers!!

Vanessa 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 2:22 pm

    This granola looks amazing! Is it homemade? And the haricots verts salad. It looks like greens is all I crave lately…

    • December 28, 2010 4:09 pm

      Yes the granola is homemade! It’s really easy to do at home and let’s you customize it however you want it! I’m hoping to make a new batch soon!! I’m craving greens too, especially after the holidays!! 🙂

  2. December 28, 2010 5:22 pm

    Mmmm pretty carrots! I love carrots on the stem.
    I wanted to take pictures on the whole walk to work today, since it was so nice and sunny, but then eventually I had to actually… go into work…
    Cute blog you have here. Cheers!
    Meri

Leave a Reply

