Skip to content

Hump Day.

December 29, 2010

 

Happy Hump Day!!!!

Boy am I glad it is Wednesday.  I just have to work tomorrow and early on Friday and then I get to have off on Saturday!!

Breakfast this morning was simple.

Frosted Mini Wheat with blueberries, granola and vanilla almond milk.

I really, really felt like going on a photography walk today.  Obviously I did not have any time to do that since work was waiting.  I did find a couple things nearby though.

I never noticed this little flag.

It’s sticking out of a telephone pole that is at the top of my driveway.  I love finding hidden things like that and finding a neat way to photograph them.

I started my car and let it warm up and wandered over to some bushes.

Love these cute berries!!

Ugh time for REAL work. Was a busy day, leading up to service!!

I roasted lots of yummy veggies!!

Like these cherry tomatoes.

I love roasting tomatoes and see how they burst. I just roasted them with some olive oil, rosemary, thyme, salt and pepper.

I also roasted some red and yellow bell peppers.

They got the same treatment as the tomatoes.  Herbs, olive oil, salt and pepper.

Ok these guys were pretty incredible tasting.

They were shrimp marinated and sauteed with barbecue spice, olive oil, salt and pepper. Firecrackers in my mouth.

They ended up in a salad.

Barbecue Shrimp Salad: Barbecue shrimp, grilled corn, romaine lettuce, grape tomatoes and chili lime dressing.  Definitely a favorite!!

Also made another favorite.

Apple and Jicama Salad: Julienned Granny Smith apples, jicama, peppers, red onions, mint, and a Mint Julep inspired dressing.  This would definitely be perfect for a hot, summer day.

I decided to re make the salad we made for Christmas Eve.

Red Cabbage Salad:  Shredded red cabbage, apples, raisins [we used currants on Christmas Eve], parsley, vinegar, sugar, celery seed [we used caraway on Christmas Eve], salt and pepper.

All those roasted vegetables ended up melding together into a yummy salad.

Roasted Vegetable Salad: Roasted zucchini, yellow squash, eggplant, red onions, cherry tomatoes, red and yellow bell peppers, roasted garlic, cumin lime vinaigrette.  A great salad after the sugar filled holidays!!

It was a super slow service tonight.  So I cleaned up fast and raced home!  I could not wait to get comfy and RELAX!! 12 + hours is a long time to be constantly on the go and on your feet!! I find that if I sit down periodically at work, I don’t have the same high energy level that I have on my feet.

Tomorrow is a short prep day at work.  Hoping to cook a good dinner again tomorrow night for myself.  I am also hoping I have enough energy left to get some cleaning and organizing down after work.  Here’s hoping!!

I am going to get comfy in my bed and write a prep list for work! Maybe pop a movie in.  Even though I will more than likely fall asleep during it.  Hope you all have a great night!!

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

