Skip to content

Bowl Full of Comfort

December 30, 2010

The alarm went off way too soon this morning. I am guilty of being a “snooze” hitter.

Breakfast wasn’t all that exciting.  It involved lots of coffee and a grab and go bite to eat.

I park my car in a parking deck in Uptown Charlotte [there are lots of those here].  I’ve done it before but felt like snapping a few photos before I walked to work.

The area. Where I work.

It was super quiet for the first hour or so at work.  I need some tunes in my life. Cue Pandora.

Helloooo Billy Joel!  I am a huge fan of Billy Joel and Bon Jovi Pandora stations.  I am a big fan of Pandora in general.

I peeled and julienned some jicama.

And grilled some corn.

I did a lot of other things like slice cucumbers, make dressings, julienne peppers, roast beets, etc. The rockstar team is almost back together!! Jaime got back finally from Pennsylvania! [She got stuck in the blizzard mess up there].

It was a short day and I got out around 2ish.  Today was the first time in a while where I was in serious need of a nap.  Boy did that feel good.  Then I need some snackage.

Remember those lentil crisps that I wasn’t crazy about?? Well they make excellent hummus delivery devices!!

For dinner I wanted to debut another new dish from Christmas.

Isn’t it pretty??

Perfect bowl for chili!!!

I chopped up some onion, carrot, celery, garlic.  Sauteed that up with tomato paste, chipotle, cumin, chili powder, paprika, oregano.

Added one small diced potato, chicken apple sausage, chicken stock, kidney beans, corn.

I topped it with shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream.  This really hit the spot.  I love little one pot wonders like this.

Can you believe that tomorrow is New Years Eve??  I’m in denial.

I’ve got an early day of work tomorrow!! 3pm game!! So I still get to have a nice night if I want to!

Ok I am off to grab a few drinks with a friend!! Hope everyone has a good night!!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 11:52 am

    Chili is one of my favorite comfort foods, too. I love how thick and spicy it is.

Leave a Reply

