Skip to content

Eat Pasta, Run Fasta

January 2, 2011

I was SO not wanting to get up this morning. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, that I hate working Sundays.

Breakfast was sorta boring, but filling.

Frosted Mini Wheats with almond milk and blueberries.

And a little treat on the side…

An Asian pear with homemade almond butter.  [I didn’t finish it all so I saved the rest for an afternoon snack.]

Work was a long prep day. It wasn’t so bad though.

Played with some leeks.

Can’t decide which one I like best.

Got some chickens ready for roasting.

Chicken was rubbed with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Stuffed with some citrus slices [lemon and orange], herbs.  Underneath I cut up some onions, carrots, leeks, garlic.

Jaime got a little excited over the crispy chicken skin.

Not that I blame her..

The meat was pretty delicious too.

Helped pastry today by chipping in with this recipe I had for individual “hot chocolate” cakes.

Love this recipe! It’s so rich and chocolaty. They kind of look like little souffles. It’s so simple too.  Only has a few ingredients: Egg yolks and whites, sugar, butter, chocolate. Yum!

After eating what seemed like my weight in chocolate cake, I headed home.  First I needed to go to Target to get some essentials. Ended up picking up an old romance classic, “A Way We Were”.  “Memories, like the corner of my mind.”

That didn’t just happen.

The beginning of tonight’s sunset was really pretty.

I like how it shines in between the trees.

I was officially stumped for dinner tonight.  It’s been an ongoing thing as of lately.  I need to snap out of it!!

I have tons of pasta on hand so I knew I wanted that.  I started thinking of casseroles.  But then I didn’t really have anything creamy or tomatoey to make it a casserole.  Fail.

I came up with this concoction.

Pasta shells, spinach, capers, tuna, kalamata olives, cheese, anchovies, artichoke hearts. [Um, I think that’s it. OH a few dashes of hot sauce]

Definitely was in need of some bubbly with dinner.

Fizzy water with a splash of orange juice and some lemon.

I cooked the pasta then tossed it with all of the other ingredients.  Popped it into a baking pan and put it in the oven to broil.

Looks like bubbly was a recurring them tonight!  Look at that bubbly cheese!!! 🙂

After putting some in a bowl, I drizzled it with some Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar.

Actually turned out pretty descent.

Ok so any other bloggers out there going to this??  Eat, Write, Retreat.  I really want to go, but not sure if I can save the money in time.  Plus I know NO ONE going.  But I am loving the content and itinerary of this conference!  I’ve always toyed around with the idea of turning my love of food into something cool by photographing, styling or writing about it.  I thought this would be an expensive, but helpful way in figuring out if it’s something I really enjoy. Anyone who is going feel free to shoot me an email or comment about it!

Anywho, It’s time to go do the dirty dishes in my sink.  Tomorrow is game day.  It’s expected to be super busy!! Late post tomorrow night!

Have a great night 🙂

Vanessa

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 9:07 pm

    that retreat sounds fun!!!
    Everyone says that any foodie retreat is awesome!!

    That pasta looks good… oh how I miss cheese sometimes!

    • January 3, 2011 11:49 pm

      I know!! I want to go to this one so bad!! My life without cheese just seems incomplete..

  2. January 2, 2011 9:15 pm

    Hi Vanessa,

    Thank you so much for your mention of Eat, Write, Retreat! I’m writing to let you know that we have just reinstated our Holiday Special on registration fees, which makes the whole weekend an incredible value. The nice part about an all-inclusive event is that there won’t be any hidden costs! Finally, here is a list of attendees, which will be growing everyday, so be sure to check back! (http://eatwriteretreat.com/attendees)

    If I can answer any other questions for you, please let me know. Hope to see you in May!

    Best,
    Casey
    Co-Founder

    • January 3, 2011 11:51 pm

      Thanks for the reply! Great to hear you reinstated the holiday special!! The only thing holding me back is the money [single occupancy is a bit more than double]… Hope to make it work somehow, someway! Great list of attendees so far! Wish I lived closer so I could have offered to volunteer!!

  3. January 3, 2011 11:40 am

    Sounds like a really busy Sunday. I wish i was going to the retreast, but i will be on vacation just a week before then and don’t think i can take more time off, but if it was closer. . .if you do go would love to hear about it.

    • January 3, 2011 11:48 pm

      I’m hoping I could find someway to go… My problem is the whole money thing. Especially since as of now, I’d have to register as single occupancy it’s a lot of money to shell out! It looks SOO fun though!! Hope you are going somewhere fun on vacation!!

Leave a Reply

