Skip to content

It’s a Whale, It’s a Unicorn, It’s…

January 4, 2011

I was so grateful to have the day off from work today [and so was my body].  I ended up sleeping until 10 which felt amazing!!

I was also feeling super proactive about making a good breakfast. Helloooo pancakes!!

Blueberry pancakes!

Topped with almond butter, coconut butter, granola and maple syrup.

I decided to stay indoors today and bum it up [aka stay in sweatpants all day].  I watched a few movies. Checked emails.  Did some blog surfing.

Then I started doing some organizing of my desk and paperwork.  I swear stacks of paper multiply like rabbits.  Half of it is junk, yet it just sits there.  While I was organizing I found my old Culinary Fundamentals CD form JWU.  Ah memories.

Of course I popped it into my computer.  I couldn’t remember what was on it.  It’s pretty much a big recipe index from the school, split up into different categories [garde manger, grains, breakfast, etc].  Good times.

Then I thought I would do some deep cleaning since I was bummin’ it all day.

Bleach, check. Lysol, check. Mr. Clean, check. Ok ready.

I scrubbed the sinks, the counters, the shower, the toilet.  Mopped the bathroom and kitchen floors, vacuumed everything and dusted.  I also took the garbage out and scrubbed the garbage cans out too.  I’m a freak. I know.

I broke for lunch.  Heated up some pasta leftovers from last night.

I tried to finish shuffling through the miscellaneous paperwork but I kept getting distracted.  Distracted by the phone. The tv. The internet. So I gave up and started dinner.

Once again I made some concoction with whatever I had in the fridge. I started with a diced onion.

Minced garlic.

Last of the Chicken Apple sausage.

Pinto Beans.

Threw all of those in a pan along with some spices, chipotle, tomato paste, splash of chicken stock.

Saffron Rice.

So when all was said and done, it was a layered dinner.

Saffron rice on the bottom.  Chicken sausage and bean mixture in the middle. Sauteed spinach on top.

Kind of an off combo, but it worked.

After putting leftovers in the fridge and doing the dishes I was craving some tea.  Peppermint tea to be exact.  As I was opening the tea box, I noticed this little guy.

I don’t know if I inhaled too many fumes from cleaning all day, but I legit could not stop laughing at this guy.  What is it??  A whale? A unicorn?  I’m pretty sure whales don’t have pointy, icicle-like noses. Just sayin…

Now I’m just going to relax and watch a movie until bed.  I probably will be browsing the internet and cookbooks for some dinner ideas.  I need to get out of this funk I’m in.  I also think planning meals you want to make throughout the week makes for a good budgeting and less waste [and less stress]!!  I also need some chocolate deliciousness in my life. I should get on that too.

Back to work tomorrow for an office day.  Yippee, more paperwork!!

Night!!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 10:29 pm

    Well, narwhals are whales which kind of do have “pointy, icicle-like noses” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Narwhal. I think they are kind of cute 🙂 How was the tea? I always want to try some nice flavored type of tea and always end up with the same regular black tea. Talk about adventure-ness!

    • January 4, 2011 11:04 pm

      Wow!! Who knew they existed! I just thought Trader Joe’s was trying to be all silly and quirky with their packaging. Oops!! Thanks for clearing that up though! They are sorta cute! The tea was delicious!! I love the peppermint teas, it’s refreshing! I’m with you though, I love black teas too!!

Leave a Reply

