Skip to content

Dinner Rut, No More!

January 6, 2011

Some people have shoe shopping problems.  Some people have clothes shopping problems.  Me?  I have food shopping problems.  I went to three different food stores today and of course bought stuff from all of them.  I have issues. You would think I was starving or something.  Quite the contrary my friends, quite the contrary.

Got some refreshments during my shopping trip.

Sparkling blackberry IZZE.

Black Cherry Almond Clif Bar.

Took a couple pictures outside.

It was pretty nice out today. I love weather that does not require a jacket!!

I came home to drop load #1 off [yes, there were a total of 2 loads].

I figured I would put together a quick snack.

Chobani yogurt with blueberries and granola.

I was lacking some bread in my house. So I definitely made sure that was taken care of.

Rye bread toast with butter. MMh.. This is one of my all time favorite things to eat. It’s SO good.

I went back out to get a few more things but came home sooner rather than later.  I had some cooking to do!!

For dinner I decided to make a new favorite of mine.  Tom Kha Gai [I think that’s how it’s spelt.  If I’m wrong, please correct me].  My Aunt’s sister, Maralee made this for us on Christmas and I loved it!! I knew I would have to recreate it sometime soon.

Ok, so ingredients…

Chopped green onion, minced garlic and ginger, red curry paste, coconut milk, shrimp, chicken, lime juice, asian rice noodles [some ingredients not pictured].

I sauteed the ginger and garlic first then added the coconut milk and curry paste. I let that kind of heat up slowly and meld together. In the meantime, I precooked the chicken and shrimp [just simply poached them in some water].  I also precooked some asian rice noodles.

That’s what the broth looks like before everything else gets added in.  It’s got a gorgeous color to it, don’t you think??

To go with the soup, I wanted something to dunk with.  Cue Naan bread! I picked up this frozen Naan at Trader Joe’s today.

It’s so easy.  All you do is pop a piece in the oven for maybe two minutes until warm.  Then drizzle some BUTTA’ over it! Mmh.  [Side note: I really want to make my own Naan bread one day.  I have dreams about making Naan pizza.]

These are the asian rice noodles aka glass noodles.  They’re super easy to make too.  You just cook it like you would regular pasta.

Lastly, I added the chicken, shrimp, rice noodles and green onions to the soup and let that heat through. Then it was mangia time!!!

Since the soup was coconut milk based, guess what I topped it with???  COCONUT BUTTER!!!

Take that dinner rut!!  I can’t hardly wait for leftovers tomorrow!!  Soup is always better the second day!

After dinner was filled with more fun stuff.  I’ve been jonesing for some sort of confectionary including peanut butter and chocolate.  I got the idea to make chocolate peanut butter cups while reading Eat, Live, Run.  I went with the recipe she had for it. Check it out over at her blog: Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups.

First you combine the peanut butter, brown sugar, powdered sugar, butter.

It’s also perfectly acceptable to save a spoonful of peanut butter for yourself.

At least I think it is…

Anyways, you end up with this peanut butter mixture.

Which you then press into a dish, pan, whatever you have.

Going along with the recipe, I used a mixture of semi-sweet and milk chocolate.

Some for the peanut butter cups, some for the cook 🙂

You melt the chocolate with butter until smooth and pourable [I cheated and nuked it in the microwave].

Then you pour and spread it on top of the peanut butter layer in the dish.

Then you pop it into the fridge for at least an hour so it hardens.  This is the hardest part of the recipe. Waiting…

Hum the Jeopardy theme song if you must.  Do whatever you need to do to pass the time.

Once they harden, it’s up to you how you want to cut them. I tried two ways.

First in circles.

Then in squares.

I think I sorta liked the squares better. These were so good, but SO rich.  So do yourself a favor and don’t eat a lot in one sitting or you well arrive at tummy ache central! I think next time I would try to use dark chocolate to cut back the sweetness just a bit.  I’m so prone to eating dark over milk chocolate nowadays, so that’s probably why.

Ok I’m off to go watch all the new shows that are back tonight!! Grey’s and Private Practice!!

Night readers!!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 10:08 pm

    YUM!! So much easier! (peanut butter cups)

    Also the red curry looks awesome, I love adding pineapple to mine!! So good!!

    Thanks for the inspiration!!! I’d love to try that naan bread too!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

