Skip to content

Alarm: 1 Me: 0

January 7, 2011

Today started off horribly.  The phone alarm won.  In fact I think it sabotaged me and didn’t go off at all, because I swear I did not hear it.  Finally a phone call from my boss woke me up.  Apparently everyone was worried that I was hurt or something.  Silly coworkers.  Thanks for the concern though!

I was in such a funk all day due to my wake up and lack of coffee.  Yes, me queen of the coffee did not have a single cup this morning.  Boy was I feeling it.  Hellooooo caffeine headache. Oye. I wasn’t in the mood to stop in between tasks to snap pictures [I apologize].

I did think this trio of shrooms was photo worthy though.

It’s like a shroom tripod!

Finally I was off work and I booked it straight to a Starbucks!!

Gosh as soon as I walked into the coffee shop and smelt all of the heavenly aromas of fresh brewed coffee, I was saved.  Grande Pike please!!  It’s days like today where I have such an appreciation for coffee.  Thank you Starbucks for saving my life.

When I got home I needed some lunch.  I was not a fan of the lunch they put out for employee meal today so I worked through it.

First started off with Rye toast with butter. [Another little piece of heaven].

Then I nuked up the last of the rice and bean mix from a few nights ago.  Roasted some cauliflower and green pepper to go on top.  I used to think cauliflower was so boring, but roasting it just makes it tastes amazing.

I finally  got myself a UV filter for my camera lens.

Helps protect the lens too.  Only took me two years [woops!].

While continuing watching my ER marathon [on season two now], I went on a shredding paper frenzy!! Between Christmas card envelopes and scrap paper, I had quite the bounty at the end of the day.

Dinner was leftover Tom Kha Gai from last night. Drizzled with some more coconut butter obviously.

The soup was just as good, if not better than yesterday!! Mmh. I probably will get one more day out of it!

After dinner I made a list of some [not all] of the things on my “What to make” list.  Guess I can cross Tom Kha Ga off the list!

One thing that is not on there that I’ve been dreaming about is homemade peppermint patties!! I can’t wait!!

Dessert was a given tonight.  Leftover chocolate peanut butter cups. Mmh.

 

I talked to one of my best friends from back home [Jersey] tonight and she shared some fabulous news.  She’s coming to visit me in Charlotte at the end of the month!!! I’m SO excited!! It’s been a long time since we’ve seen each other!!

We have known each other for a long time.  Went to high school together.  Worked together.  Got promoted together.  Took vacations together.

Went to college together.  Been through rough times together.  Cried together.  Laughed together.

And I will be starting a countdown for this Jersey girl’s arrival in the Queen City!!

Tomorrow is a game day.  I must say I’m a little unmotivated to get through the long day tomorrow.  Maybe it’s just how I feel after a morning like today.  Ho hum..

Have a great night readers!!

Vanessa 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 10:45 pm

    <3<3<3 I can't wait to see you!!!!! Look out clt jersey is coming!

  2. January 8, 2011 7:37 am

    Not waking up from my alarm is probably one of my biggest fears! Not having enough time to eat and relax in the morning? Not good!

    • January 8, 2011 10:06 pm

      Yeah it was pretty horrible.. I was so flustered and it threw my entire day off. I totally missed my coffee, blog surfing, checking emails time. I have a fear of oversleeping for an airline flight. That would be an expensive mistake!!

Trackbacks

  1. MVP « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

