Skip to content

Workin’ for the Weekend

January 8, 2011

I knew today was going to be a better day because for one, I woke up to my alarm at 6am!! Wahoooo! 🙂 Guess me and my alarm are tied now. I was so looking forward to breakfast this morning.  I was planning on making this the other day, but then I overslept. Yea let’s not bring that up. [I’m still bitter].

Here are the ingredients:

Vanilla, cinnamon, almond milk, coconut butter, banana, oats, ground flax, peanut butter, etc.

Ashley’s Banana Scramble!!!!

I was so intrigued by this [as per many of her recipes].

It’s pretty simple.  You combine the ingredients [banana, milk, oats, cinnamon, vanilla, flax].  Then you pour that mixture into a pan and form it into a patty and cook like you would a pancake.

I put it on an english muffin and topped it with peanut butter, blackberry plum jam and the other half of the banana. YUM!!

Check out her original recipe over at The Edible Perspective.  You won’t regret it, I promise!!

I got to work early and wanted to get a good start on my prep for the day.  I was feeling so energized, as I always do when I have my coffee and a balanced breakfast 🙂

I actually took pictures today. Crazy huh?? [Who am I???]

As garnish for a lot of our antipasti items we grill lemons.

Just halve the lemon and pop it on the grill until it’s nice and caramelized.

Like this:

Aren’t they neat??

We had a cheese plating assembly line…

Chock full of cheese, candied nuts, strawberries, dried fruit and these perfect grapes!

It’s the little things in life…

I wandered over to the pastry corner.

I love what Maribel [our pastry gal] comes up with for garnish.  She’s always experimenting, which I LOVE!

Look at this cool sugar garnish!!!

She wanted to model it off for you guys.. Cue sugar photo shoot.

Shot #1

Shot #2

Shot #3

Haha.. She’s hilarious and is always laughing and having fun at work.  Love ya Maribel 🙂

Ok here are some salad stars of the night…

Pepper Steak Salad:  Grilled flank steak [marinated it cracked black pepper and garlic], baby greens, roasted mushrooms, roasted onions, blue cheese crumbles, sourdough croutons, ranch dressing.

The flank steak turned out really good and I could not stop eating those darn croutons.

Why does bread have to be SO delicious and irresistible?  It’s not fair!

Trio Tomato Salad: Chunked yellow, green and red tomatoes tossed with red wine vinaigrette, basil, parsley, red onions and salt and pepper.

All the colors of this salad make it so appealing.  It’s refreshing too.

The return of the Bay Scallop Ceviche.

Just as good as the last time.  It’s amazing how the scallops just melt in your mouth. I’m thinking next time there may be the addition of shrimp to it.  What do you think???

Marinated Mushrooms:  Roasted Cremini and button mushrooms marinated in balsamic and topped with crumbled goat cheese and parsley.

These are always a crowd favorite.  I can actually tolerate mushrooms at work.  Maybe it’s because it’s drenched in balsamic?? [A guilty pleasure of mine].

Grilled Tuna Nicoise Salad:  Spinach, grilled tuna, hard boiled eggs, grape tomatoes, red onions, kalamata olives, haricot vert, white balsamic dressing.

I have a great love of Nicoise salad.  It’s such a great combination of ingredients.

Cous Cous Salad:  Pearled Israeli cous cous, dried cranberries, figs, apricots, slice almonds, green onions, pear vinaigrette.

I love cous cous and how light and versatile it is.  The dried fruit really brightens the salad up.

Tabbouleh Salad: Bulghur wheat, tomatoes, parsley, mint, extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

Another light and refreshing salad…

Lentil and Beet Salad: Green lentils, tossed with sherry vinaigrette.  Tossed with roasted red beets and topped with goat cheese and parsley.

I’m not a huge beet lover but I think beets and lentils make a great and healthy combination.

Love this tuna, so I took a close up shot of the grilled deliciousness.

As I was taking that picture, Maribel came over from the pastry corner and wanted to make it look pretty.

Here’s the result:

That bowl ended up as her pre service snack. Mmh.

Service wasn’t so bad.  We got a little rush.  It wasn’t even that it was so crowded tonight. People seriously came to eat.  They ate everything!!! Even the healthy stuff [lentil and beets].  Since I’m in the south, the customers tend to gravitate towards the familiar foods. Potato salad, Caesar Salad, collard greens, lots of meat and potatoes.  So it really threw me for a loop when they even hit the healthy stuff. Maybe it’s all those new year’s resolutions?

I’m so glad to be home.  I’m currently writing this post while drinking a beer aka my night cap.  I will probably write up a prep list for tomorrow and call it a night.  My bed is calling my name right about now.

Tomorrow is a prep day.  I am so not enthused about working on a Sunday.  This has been quite the recurring schedule lately and I don’t like it one bit.  Hope everyone had a great night!!

Catch ya later!!!

Vanessa 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 1:47 am

    Oh man… that’s some good looking stuffF! I think that I’d like to eat at your restaurant! A lot of the things listed would be perfect meals for me! 🙂

    I say go for the shrimp in the cevhiche (sorry don’t know how to spell it)

    Have a good night!

  2. January 9, 2011 9:42 pm

    All the food in this post looks amazing. Love the sugar creation!! Glad you liked the banana scramble..yours looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

