Skip to content

Gone Green

January 9, 2011

Today was one of those Sundays where I would have given almost anything to have been able to sleep in.  Unfortunately work was more important.

Just because I had to work on a Sunday doesn’t mean I should slack off on breakfast.

I used the last of my Great Harvest Pancake Mix to make some pancakes!

Banana pancakes!

Topped with some maple syrup, peanut butter, coconut butter [I’m almost out!!], blueberries, banana [half of a peanut butter cup may have ended up on there too].

Had a quick four hour work day today.  It was a prep day for the game tomorrow.  I was feeling sort of tired today though.  Got what we needed to get done though.  After work I had to go to Earthfare to pick up a couple things for work [Tamarind and brown miso].  Of course the store was packed because we are expecting some nasty weather coming our way.  Everyone was buying eggs, milk and bread, except me.  Along with my work items, I picked up some water, tempeh and this lovely drink.

This flavor wasn’t too bad, but I couldn’t drink it all in one sitting.

I drank it alongside the last of the leftover Tom kha ga [Why am I still showing you guys pictures of this soup???].

Rye toast with butter.

Then I spent the day in laundry hell.

Three loads worth.  Why do I let it pile this high??

Dinner was a mish mash of things in my fridge.

All starting with half a sweet potato.

I just slice it, drizzled it with olive oil, salt and pepper and paprika.  Roasted it in the oven until tender.

Made some cous cous. I love how fluffy this stuff is.

While searching through my fridge, I noticed something.  I apparently only buy GREEN vegetables!!

Here’s proof…

Green avocado.

Green bell pepper.

Green kale.

Green cabbage.

Green spinach.

See?? And that is not counting the celery and leftover green onions that I did not photograph. I’m ridiculous.

I finally used this little contraption my Aunt and Uncle brought me back from Greece. It holds olive oil and vinegar.

I was never sure if the vinegar went in the inside spout or the outside.  So I’m not sure if this is right.  I put some balsamic vinegar in the inside part and the extra virgin olive oil in the outside part.

These pictures totally would look so much better with some natural daylight.

See the spout with the cork is where the olive oil comes out and the silver cap is a spray that the vinegar comes out of.  Nifty eh?

I was clearly slightly obsessed with taking pictures of these sweet potato stacks. [Dont judge!!]

This was the finished plate of dinner.

Ended up making some green kale chips and roasted some green bell pepper to go along with the rest of the stuff.

Mmh, kale chips.

Something tells me it will not be a late bed time for me tonight.  My eyes are already sleepy.  How pathetic.

We have a game tomorrow at work, so it will be a long day.  Hopefully when I wake up I won’t look out the window to a winter wonderland.  My car and me would not be very happy.

Goodnight all!!!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 11:51 pm

    YUM that looks so good!! Your couscous looks s good and idon’t even like couscous!! 🙂 haha

    I hope your morning is bright and sunny with no snow!
    I’m dreading the snow right now too, I have a 45 min drive each way and home in the dark and it’s supposed to snow 30cm in the next few days…

    • January 10, 2011 8:04 am

      Oh my goodness, I can’t believe you don’t like cous cous!! So good!! I woke up to snow today as expected, boo!! :-/

Leave a Reply

