Skip to content

Snow Miser

January 10, 2011

So I woke up to the winter wonderland that I was dreading last night.  Luckily it wasn’t as bad as I thought.  It was the fun kind of snow.  You know the fluffy kind perfect for making snowballs and throwing up in the air.  I did take some pretty pictures while my car was warming up though.

Snowy tree lined sidewalk.

Snowy street. My driveway is extremely steep.  So when I know that it will snow, I park my car on the street so I don’t have to worry about getting my car out.

 

Snowy trees.

I thought it was pretty neat how the snow fit in the little nooks of the trees.  I’m such a weirdo.

More snowy trees.

I was being silly in the snow.

Who takes pictures of the sewer grates??? Only me.

The roads weren’t as bad as I thought they would be, this morning at least.  My car was easy to clean off because it was fluffy snow. It was sort of fun.  We knew work would not be that busy today.  I mean if I had off and it was snowing I would not go out to eat.  I would stay inside drink a hot beverage, watch movies, bake, eat, and most likely live in my sweatpants all day.  Just sayin..

It was sort of a silly day since we had a lot of time on our hands.  It’s kind of nice to have a day like that every once in a while.

For lunch we whipped up some seared Ahi tuna fish tacos.

Flour tortilla, seared tuna, slaw, avocado, siracha dressing.

Mmh deliciousness.  Ate two of those bad boys.

I had to julienne apples for a salad.  I came across a perfect Granny Smith apple. So I took pictures, as usual.

I love taking pictures of food.  Almost have enough money for a new lens!! Wahhoo!

Service as predicted was excruciatingly slow. We only had to make a few salads and just kept ourselves occupied for the meantime.  We cleaned up super early and super fast.  I wanted to get out ASAP!! The later we got out, the colder the temperature would be.  Which meant the icier the roads, yikes!  The roads were SO icey tonight!  I almost busted it a few times walking to my car. Thankfully I got home fine.  The road my apartment is on, is a straight sheet of ice [let me just tell you how fun it was to park on that].

When I got inside I needed something to warm me up.  Cue the vino!

Cracked open a bottle of Pinot Grigio from Trader Joe’s!!! I love that TJ’s has incredibly cheap wine.  Honestly what is better than that???

I have off from work tomorrow because the roads are going to get super icey overnight.  It’s just not worth going in for four hours of prep time.  So I’m thinking I’ll sleep in a little tomorrow, eat a good breakfast, do some research on some blog related things, and bake something.

Here’s my baking inspiration for tomorrow…

Two ripe bananas and two ripe avocados.  I’m thinking Avocado banana bread?? Maybe some chocolate added?? Anyone have any good recipes or suggestions?

Well hope everyone has a great night!! Stay warm!

Night!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 11:53 pm

    I’m SO curious about Avocado zuchinni bread! I have never thought of baking with avacado!

    Avocado pudding is amazing too! Blend it with some lemon juice, agave and coacao powder, SO AMAZING!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  2. January 11, 2011 3:19 pm

    ps. you got an award on my blog today! http://www.dairyfreebetty.com/2011/01/stylish-blogger.html

Leave a Reply

