Skip to content

The Riper the Better

January 11, 2011

As promised this post is FULL of food!!!

First up was the result of my baking inspirations: Banana and Avocado.

We’ll call this: Chocolate Banana Avocado Bread

I decided today, I would do something a little different.  Photographed my method of preparation step by step.  Also a typed recipe will follow.

Mix your dry ingredients together.  This includes: Oats, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, flour, salt and cinnamon.

Mash the avocado.

Add  the brown sugar to the mashed avocado and mix until fluffy.  Then add your eggs one at a time until incorporated.

Chop your walnuts.  It’s only 1/2 cup, so I just did it quickly by hand.

Add the bananas and chopped walnuts to the avocado mixture.  Stir until combined.

Then mix in your dry ingredients.

Lastly, add in your buttermilk.  I didn’t have butter milk on hand so I just substituted some plain yogurt instead.  I got this idea from Buzzle which has a slew of buttermilk substitutes on it’s page!

Once combined, than your batter is complete!

I only had mini loaf pans, two to be exact.  So this batter filled those up and I still had some excess.  I greased the pans with butter and lightly sprinkled some sugar on the bottom, tapping out the excess.

Pour batter into the prepared dough pan[s].  Lightly sprinkle the demerara sugar on top.

Depending on what size pans you are using, baking times will differ.  I used two of these smaller loaf pans and baked it for about 45-50 minutes.  If baking in a bigger pan I would up the time to one hour and fifteen minutes. It’s a super moist loaf so if you want a drier bread, bake a little longer than directed.

While I was waiting for the loaves to bake, I made brunch.  Decided to go with an omelette.

Ingredients included: Spinach, onions, peppers, feta, eggs.

Wallah! Chocolate Banana Avocado Bread is done!!

I usually take the loaves and cool them in their pans for a little.  Then I’ll invert them onto a cooling rack, removing them from the pans, until fully cooled.

I had extra batter so I pulled out my mini muffin pans and made, well mini muffins!!

Little lethal bites of deliciousness.

Chocolate Banana Avocado Bread

Adapted from California Avocado Commission

Ingredients:

1/3 cup old-fashioned oats

1 cup white wheat flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

2 ripe Avocados [smaller]

1/4 cup canola oil

1 cup brown sugar [packed]

2 eggs

2 ripe bananas

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup plain yogurt

1/3 cup cocoa powder [estimated]

Method of Preparation:

1. Grease your loaf pan[s].  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl: oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cocoa powder.  Set aside.

3. Scoop the avocado, pit and lightly mash.  Add the canola oil and brown sugar to the mashed avocado.  Cream with a mixer until fluffy.

4.  Add eggs one at a time to the avocado mixture, beating well until incorporated.

5.  Stir in the bananas and the chopped walnuts.  Then go ahead and add the dry ingredients as well.  Once those are combined, stir in the yogurt [or buttermilk] until just mixed together.

6.  Pour into your prepared loaf pans and bake.  **Remember, the larger the pan the longer the bake time!**

 

For dinner I wanted some sort of comfort food.  I’m part Hungarian, so my Grandpa used to make Chicken Paprikash all the time.  I phoned my Mom to refresh my memory on the process.

I diced up some onion, garlic and green bell pepper and sauteed them in butter until soft.

I only had chicken breast so I cubed it and threw it in the pan to brown along with the vegetables.  [Usually to make chicken paprikash, you would use chicken on the bone].

I then added some Hungarian paprika and bay leaves and let that toast up a bit.

I poured enough chicken stock in the pot to cover the chicken.  Put the top on and bring to a boil for about 40 minutes to an hour.

PAPRIKA FAIL!!!!

Good thing I had backup!

I boiled up some egg noodles!! You could literally boil these up and serve them to me a bowl with butter and cheese and I’d be happy as a pig in mud.

I added sour cream to the pot along with some flour and water and let it thicken.  That’s it!

Served over egg noodles. Mmh.

This was the longest post ever!!! I hope you made it to the end!! Thanks for reading 🙂

Did you like that I included a typed recipe and step by step method or preparation?? Suggestions are always welcome!

Have a good night!!

Vanessa 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 9:52 pm

    Mmmmmm this looks so good!!! 🙂 I love the idea of using avocado in bread, if I had eggs, I’d be all over this recipe right now!

  2. Encore permalink
    January 12, 2011 12:38 pm

    Loved that you used step by step pictures and the recipe, especially since I am not very instinctive around the kitchen! Thanks and it all looks delicious!!

Trackbacks

  1. EEZy Thursday « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

