Skip to content

Wacky Wednesday

January 12, 2011

Today felt like a longggg day. The streets were still pretty icy this morning.  Mostly the side roads because they get less traffic.  I rushed a little to get out of the house to make sure my car was warmed up and would start.  Due to the rushing, I did not make a fabulous breakfast at home.  I just waited until I got to work and picked on some stuff there.

It felt weird at work today.  I was definitely moving at a glacial pace.  Probably because today felt like it should have been a prep day.  Instead we just jumped right into game day. Gahh!

To make things worse the health department showed up!!  Although I have to admit I had a gut feeling it would be happening today so I was super prepared! Totally aced the inspection!   For the rest of the night I was just loopy.  You know where you get in one of those silly moods?

We made guacamole for a snack.  Mmh.  This stuff is so lethal!! I could eat a giant bowl of this for dinner and be perfectly happy.

Tried some on a crostini.  So good.

I really didn’t take a lot of pictures of the salads of the night tonight, because they seemed a bit repetitive.  What’s the fun in that?

Snapped a picture of a Caesar salad in the making.

So I decided to take some behind the scene shots!

This is behind the line.  It’s an open style kitchen.

To the left is my area and straight ahead is the hot line.  Around the corner is pastry.

Zoomed in on my part of the line.

There are actually a few little coolers behind me and to the left of me.  This is the main part of my line though. It has drawers that pull out and that’s where I put all of my main salad ingredients.  I have a great little system. It works.

Then I started taking pictures of anything or everything.

Hey Emilio!

He sets up a lot of the tables and carves meats tableside.

Snapshot of a Jicama apple salad in the making.

Light, fresh and clean.

A lot of the salads have some different types of greens.  I usually put them in big lexan bins and label them.

Tonight we had romaine and iceberg lettuce. Arugula and spinach.

Five grain salad was on the menu again.

I cook all of the grains separately and once they’ve cooled, mix them all together and store them in a container until service.

Took pictures of some behind the scenes props.  Little oil and vinegar bottles. Mmh aged balsamic.

That picture to the right is the handle to a pizza oven door [which doesn’t work at the moment]  I just thought it was cool because it was all springy.

Couldn’t wait to clean up and go home tonight!!  I did manage to take the leftover guacamole home though! Woo hoo!

Got home and it seemed like a lot of the ice melted on my street today. However just because I’m worrier, I parked my car on the street again tonight, just in case the driveway wasn’t fully defrosted.  I worry over the silliest things.

I got in my door and immediately put on sweatpants.  Then I went into the kitchen and chugged some water.  I have been insanely thirsty today.  Wonder what the deal is with that?!  I popped a few of these lethal bites in my mouth.

Mini muffins are AWESOME!

I washed it down with a large glass of vino.

And now I am ready for bed.

But first, a little something to share! Jessica from Dairy Free Betty gave me an award yesterday!!

Thank you Jessica 🙂  Still being new to the whole blogging world, I of course got overly excited about this!!

Ok so there are some details to share:

There are 4 duties to perform to accept this award:

1.  Make a post + Link back to the person who awarded you this award.
2.  Share 7 things about yourself.
3.  Award 15 recently discovered great bloggers
4.  Contact these bloggers and tell them they’ve won!

Seven things….

– I ten to have anxiety over the dumbest things.

-I’ve always been sort of the pessimist in life.  Maybe it’s time for a change?

-I sometimes turn to Sex and the City for life advice.

-I wish running came naturally to me.

-Before turning to culinary, I almost went to school for interior design and education.

-I’m obsessed with my camera.

-I want to be a healthier, fit person.

Ok so some newly discovered blogs are…..

Clean Eating Chelsey

Blogging Over Thyme

The Actor’s Diet

Hangry Pants

with a Side of Sneakers

Running Foodie

Foodie Fresh

Ok so not exactly 15 like it specifies… Don’t hate me!  Lots of these are not new blogs by any means.  I guess it just took me a while to find them but I’m glad I did 🙂

Ok now it’s bed time!! Day at the lake tomorrow!!

Night!!

Vanessa 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 11:30 pm

    Thanks so much Vanessa! I’m really excited to do this 🙂 It’s always great hearing feedback, especially since I’ve been having trouble writing as much as I would like. Thank you!! 🙂

    • January 12, 2011 11:31 pm

      Love your facts by the way! I vaguely considered interior design too. How funny! I identify with so many of yours.

      • January 13, 2011 8:10 am

        Your welcome 🙂 I hope you have fun doing it!! Thanks!! That’s so funny how alike we seem to be! Can’t wait to see your facts!

  2. January 12, 2011 11:54 pm

    thank you so much for the award!!!

  3. January 13, 2011 12:47 pm

    Aw, you’re so sweet to give me an award! Thank you! It looks like you work just a few blocks from where I live!

    Washing down chocolate mini muffins with wine totally looks like something I would do. 🙂

    • January 13, 2011 9:29 pm

      Your most welcome!! Really??! What a small world!! Maybe I’ll see ya around haha! Great minds think alike 🙂

  4. January 14, 2011 8:54 am

    Thanks so much!!! Hmmmm now I need to think of 7 interesting things that won’t put you to sleep….. 😉

    • January 14, 2011 3:25 pm

      Your welcome!! I’m sure it wouldn’t be boring at all!! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

