Skip to content

EEZy Thursday

January 13, 2011

I was up bright and early today!! I was suppose to make my way up to the lake today, but had a change of plans!  Instead I was going to meet up with my Aunt and Uncle for dinner!! With that decided, I postponed my shower and made a killer breakfast!! One that should be repeated for many, many times to come!

Smoothie in a Bowl

[SIAB]

In this mix: Mixed frozen berries, some rolled oats, handful of spinach, a sprinkle of ground flax, plain yogurt, splash of orange juice and almond milk, half of a banana.

Toppings included: Granola, a few fresh blueberries, coconut butter.

This was the first time I ate my smoothie in a bowl with a spoon.  I enjoyed it much more than sipping it out of a glass.  Although sometimes that’s nice too.

Clearly I hated this smoothie.  Ha yea right!! Is it bad I contemplated licking the bowl??? [Don’t judge!!]

I did some house cleaning, took the garbage out, washed and changed the sheets [lime green flannel!!!] and took my shower.

For lunch I had the leftover Chicken Paprikash from the other night.

Just as good as the first night.

I had a few errands to run so I slowly made my way up north to my ultimate dinner destination.

I was meeting my Aunt and Uncle at Birkdale Village.  It’s a quaint little outdoor shopping center, full of shops, restaurants and a movie theater.  I took a few pictures of the scenery from around there.

The ice is still much present.

As you can see.

Looks like a frozen tundra or something.

Cute light posts with signs.

Above a lot of the stores and restaurants are apartments.

How cool would it be to live up there?  If there were things like this closer to where I live, I’d totally move into one.  I am not a big high rise apartment girl.  Here that Charlotte?? [Hint Hint].

It does look pretty with the sun shining on the snowy ice.

I wandered into Williams-Sonoma, naturally.  I have a few gift cards to this place that I’ve been hoarding for longer than I’d like to admit. It’s just so overpriced that it’s hard to justify picking something out to buy.

Another thing you probably didn’t know about me.  I’m a huge Stars Wars geek.  Yep, I said it. I’d take a ride with Hans Solo in the Millennium Falcon any day!

So you could imagine my excitedness when I saw this badass display walking through the door.  [Sorry I just couldn’t help myself].

Star Wars cupcakes???

And cookie cutters???

I almost bought that apron.  That is until I realized it was for kids. Fail.  Kids get all the fun things these days.  I mean who wouldn’t want to take that Star Wars lunchbox to school everyday??

Seriously…

I needed a refreshment after that experience.  So I walked over to Barnes & Noble and got a hot coffee.  I could spend hours in here, and I did.  I flipped through magazines and cookbooks and read a few excerpts from some potential books I’d like to buy in the future.  I didn’t buy anything this time because I still have an enormous pile of unread books in my apartment.  I should get on that.

They just put in a ‘Life is Good’ store in Birkdale.  I love those shirts.

I love the movie theater here.  I like how they have all of the lit movie signs outside the theater.

Note Black Swan and The Fighter.  That’s it, tomorrow after work I’m looking up times to Black Swan and if there’s a good one I am going to see it.  Let’s hope I stick to it this time.  I want to see the fighter too.  I mean it’s Mark Whalberg and Christian Bale, HELLO??? There should be no argument there.

Anyways, 6:30 pm arrived and it was time for dinner!  We met at one of my favorite restaurants at Birkdale, Eez!  It’s a Fusion Sushi place that is just plain awesome!!

** I should note that the picture in the rest of this post was taken from my point and shoot camera.  It just didn’t feel right whipping out the big guns in this restaurant.  The pictures aren’t the best and the lighting was horrible.  Anyways you get the idea..**

I’ve been jonesin for some sushi so I was all about this restaurant tonight. I started with a house salad with ginger dressing.  I love ginger dressing you get at these places.

Eez is owned by the same people that just opened The Cowfish down here in Southpark.  It’s on my list of restaurants to try.

Nice advertising Eez.

For dinner I chose the Hokey Pokey Roll.  And yes that’s what it’s all about!

Holy yum!!

What is it you ask??  Tempura shrimp and kani roll coated with tempura flakes and topped with an Ahi Tuna poke. This was SO filling and SO good.

On the side they served some sort of spicy crab salad in an avocado half. Genius.  Totally devoured.

It was the perfect amount of food. Sushi craving fufilled.

We went to Starbucks for a after dinner hot drink. I got a tall cappuccino. Then we parted ways.

I raced back home to watch Grey’s Anatomy!! Anyone else addicted to this show??  The last five minutes are always the best.  Tonight’s episode left me saying, “Oh my God”.

Now I have to do a few things before bed.  Something tells me I won’t be sleeping much tonight.  Have a prep day tomorrow!!

See ya tomorrow!!! 🙂

Vanessa

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 11:16 pm

    That smoothie looks awesome and you take some great pictures. I just came across your blog and look forward to reading more.

    Beatrix

  2. January 13, 2011 11:29 pm

    Both those movies are fantastic. Black Swan is seriously messed up, but really amazing. I’ve never seen another movie like it!!

  3. January 14, 2011 1:56 am

    Darth Vader and Master Yoda cookies! want want want! I might even start baking just for that.

    • January 14, 2011 7:51 am

      Haha!! I know right?? Good to know I’m not the only one who got excited over that!! 🙂

  4. January 14, 2011 12:21 pm

    i call SIAB “smoothie soups.” it’s been forever since i’ve made one!

  5. January 14, 2011 5:42 pm

    I saw those cookie cutters when I was in William-Sonoma, too, and almost bought them until I remember gluten-free cookies(all I can eat) tend to not hold their shape in the oven so I’d more likely get round yoda cookies.

Leave a Reply

