Skip to content

Swan Queen!

January 14, 2011

I definitely did not want to get up this morning.  As expected, I didn’t sleep very well last night.  I know I needed some breakfast to give me the energy I was lacking to start the day.

Cue eggs and toast!

Just scrambled two eggs and topped them with ketchup.

Served with rye toast with butter.  Simple but good. That’ll do.

Today was a prep day at work and………

Jaime’s Birthday!!!!!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JAIME!!

I know I already told you 🙂

Most people get cake on their birthday.

Jaime got crack boursin cheese in the face!! Classic!  Good call Heather!

In the midst of all the birthday shenanigans we did actually do some work.

 

Helloooo curvy asparagus!

I thought I would take a few pictures to show the curing process of some salmon.

First you take a clean side of salmon and rub lemon juice all over the surface

Then in a separate bowl, mix together, sugar, salt, cracked black pepper, cilantro, parsley, minced shallot.

Now take that mixture and cover the sides of salmon.  Then you play the waiting game.

Tune in tomorrow to see how they turn out!

I also got informed I was employee of the month!

I think the whole thing is a little cheesy.  I am well aware sometimes we all need a little cheesy in our lives, but today was just not one of them.  They gave me two free tickets to a Bobcat game, which I’ll most likely be working. So I’m a little frustrated about that one. But oh well, it is what it is.

I got out of work at around 3 and had my mind set on what I wanted to do for the afternoon.

First I went home to change and fuel up.

I ate the leftover guacamole from the other day.

Used lentil chips as dippers! Mmh.

I was going to go see a movie so I packed some snacks.

TJ’s Cinnamon Almonds!! [and yes they are irresistible!!]

What was I going to see?

BLACK SWAN!!!!

Ok thoughts.  I absolutely loved it!! Yes at times it was a bit intense and gory.  I thought it was great acting and a great story line.  I also happen to love psychological thrillers and movies that really get you thinking. I would most definitely recommend this movie to anyone!! I hope Natalie Portman wins an award for her role!!

I was in a bit of a funk when I got out of the movie.  Like one of those “what did I just watch” funks.  I was thinking about what really happened and trying to make sense of it all in my head.

I wasn’t super hungry since I munched on crack almonds.  So I threw together a light dinner. [Yes at 8pm].

Leftover cous cous with roasted cauliflower, carrots and kale.  Spritzed with a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Look at that caramelization!!! <—-Food nerd alert!!

I have a long day tomorrow so I’m relaxing with these studly fellas.

If only….

Night all!!

Late post tomorrow night! [Game night!]

Vanessa 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 10:52 pm

    Natalie portman just won best actress on the critics choice awards!!!!!

  2. January 15, 2011 12:24 am

    The cinnamon almonds look delicious! How could I possibly have missed it? I foresee a trip to Trader Joe’s in my near future. 😉 I loved black swan as well. Could not stop thinking about it for days after having watched it….

    • January 15, 2011 7:16 am

      They are right over by all their nuts and trail mixes!! So good! I keep thinking about Black Swan too. So intense.

Leave a Reply

