Skip to content

Breaded Tempeh

January 16, 2011

Ok so today was a double post kind of day. Dinner was pretty awesome.  I cannot take all the credit though.

I’ve been meaning to try Ashley’s [err or should I say her husband Chris’]  breaded tempeh ever since I saw it! ^^ Check out her recipe

Gosh I’m glad I did.

I started with Westsoy Five Grain Tempeh.  I liked it a lot more than the TJ’s one I had a few weeks ago.   Anyways, I sliced it up like so.

Made some herbed breadcrumbs.

** I just took some panko breadcrumbs and tossed with with some garlic gold, italian seasonings and salt. **

Made the standard breading procedure.

Flour, egg wash, herbed breadcrumbs.

I dredged the tempeh slices in flour, then egg wash, then the breadcrumbs.

I laid them out on a sheet tray until I was ready to fry them.

I wanted to make it like chicken parmesan, so I needed tomato sauce of course.

Every time I make sauce I start out with chopped garlic, onion, celery and carrot.

Popped open a can of San Marsano whole peeled tomatoes.

I start by sautéing the vegetables until soft and translucent.

Then I added oregano, basil and tomato paste and let that meld together for a few.

Then it was time to deglaze the pan.

I love to deglaze with red wine when I make sauce.

Just scraped the bits off the bottom and let the alcohol cook off a couple of minutes.

Then it was time to add the whole peeled tomatoes.

I stirred it all together and let it stew a bit with the lid on.

While that was stewing, I heated my oil in the pan for the tempeh.  Once hot, I dropped all the pieces of tempeh in and let it get golden brown.

Brown on one side, then flip it and do the same.  Once done, I transferred them back to the sheet try to drain.

Then I took the sauce that had been stewing and blended it just a bit with the immersion blender.

I like a slightly chunky tomato sauce, but you can blend it to whatever consistency you’d like.

Then I quality controlled of course.

I ended up adding some sugar and salt to it.

Ok now the assembly.  I had a piece of rosemary bread from Great Harvest in the freezer.  So I thawed that out and put the fried tempeh on top.

Then I topped it with the tomato sauce.

And then the cheese! Mmh.

Placed it in the oven on broil until golden. [Make sure you watch it closely!!!]

This was seriously awesome!!

I ended up putting a little bit more sauce over top of it.

I really don’t feel like doing the dishes.

Again…

I guess it can wait until after the Golden Globes!! I’m pulling for Natalie Portman!! Oh and I wish I was sitting at Johnny Depp’s table right about now.

Goodnight!!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 9:24 pm

    Uhhhh, yum!!! I’m so glad you liked this and so is the huz! 😉 The sauce you made looks SO GOOD!!

Leave a Reply

