Skip to content

Experimental Waffles

January 16, 2011

Coffee was much needed this morning.

I woke up with a killer headache. Coffee cured it though. Thank God.  I’ve thought about trying to slowly ween myself off being so dependent on coffee.  But then I have mornings like today, where I am reminded that I wouldn’t survive a day without it.

I wanted to experiment for breakfast this morning.  Boy did I ever.  I was craving some waffles.  I consulted a breakfast cookbook I had.

It had been so long since I’ve made a waffle batter from scratch, I needed some refreshing guidelines.

So this is what I did.

I whisked a couple eggs together until frothy.

Then I melted some butter, and added it to the frothy eggs along with some almond milk.  Just quickly mix them together.

**Instead of butter you could use margarine or oil if you wanted to.  I used almond milk because that’s what I had on hand, you can use whatever type you want though.**

Then gather and add your dry ingredients.  They include: Flour, baking powder, salt, sugar.

** I used white-wheat flour.  Use whatever you have on hand. **

Mix until combined.  That’s pretty much a basic waffle mix. From here you can add whatever flavorings or auxiliary elements that you’d like.

This is where I got wild. I got a crazy idea to make it lemon poppy seed flavored waffles.

I zested one lemon and added that and the juice of one and half lemons to the batter.  I added few tablespoons of poppyseeds as well [I didn’t really measure them. Just added it in the mix until it looked seedy enough].

That’s what my finished batter looked like.

Then I busted out the big guns.

Belgian waffle maker!! I love these things. I think I just like the process of flipping the machine more than anything.  <–weirdo.

Ok so like I said, it’s been a long time since I’ve made waffles.  Boy was I rusty.

Waffle #1.

Obviously I didn’t put enough batter in the waffle maker.  Plus it wasn’t entirely cooked all the way through.  DOH! [That’s in my Homer Simpson voice].

Waffle #2.

Better but still not as crispy as I’d like it.  I made another one after this which actually turned out crispy enough.

These need a little tweaking I think.  They weren’t horrible by any means.  I think I was just anticipating a slightly different result.  For going head first into making scratch made waffles for the first time in a while, it wasn’t too shabby.

I saved two waffles to freeze.

I love frozen waffles when I’m in a rush some mornings.

** Note the label on the foil: Experimental Lemon Poppyseed Waffles!!**

I had a tiny bit of batter left.  So I pulled out my nonstick skillet and made a pancake.

I sort of like it in pancake form too. Love experiments.

As I was putting the waffles in the freezer I wanted to cry.

I need to clean out and organize my freezer.

Yikes.

Double yikes.

I need a full time dishwasher.

I ended up eating half of one of the waffles and the pancake.  Drizzled some syrup on top with some blueberries and dark chocolate nibs.

Love these little things.

Yet another fabulous product from Trader Joe’s.

Experimental Lemon Poppyseed Waffles

Yields: 4-5 waffles [depending on the size]

Ingredients:

2 Large eggs

1/2 cup melted butter

1 3/4 cups almond milk

2 cups white-wheat flour

1 Tbsp. sugar

4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

Zest of one lemon

Lemon juice of 1 1/2 lemons

A few tbsp. poppyseed

A few tsp. ground flax

 

Method of Preparation:

1. Whisk eggs until frothy.

2. Add melted butter and almond milk to the eggs until just mixed.

3.  Add the remaining dry ingredients, lemon, poppyseed, flax and mix until smooth.

4.  Heat your waffle iron.  Spray lightly with oil.

5.  Add around 3/4 cup of the batter onto the waffle iron. Close lid and cooke until lightly browned and crisp.

6.  Repeat until you’re out of batter. Or make an experimental pancake [like I did].

 

Time to do some productive things today. Like clean my kitchen….

See ya later!!!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 4:08 pm

    I always turn my oven on, and once the waffles are done in the waffle maker I toss them in the oven, because I love my waffles super crunchy!

    I love waffles, I haven’t had them forever!! I have a fantastic recipe under “tina’s rad waffles”, you can search it on my blog, it’s my fav waffle recipe yet!!

Leave a Reply

