Skip to content

Holy Scnikies

January 17, 2011

For what started off like a lazy Monday morning, I ended up being super productive today!! I made a small shopping list of things I needed from Trader Joe’s. Which obviously didn’t help because I came home with this…

Why is it SO hard to not buy everything in Trader Joe’s?? There must be MSG in the air there or something.  Proof that lists don’t always help.

I tried a new item today.  It’s a fruit bar, called Fiberful.

I bought the mixed berry one. It wasn’t bad.  But very different.  Full of fiber and fruits!

Usually when I get home from the grocery store I unload my bounty on the counter and separate them into two piles.  Fridge/freezer items and Dry/pantry items.

Exhibit A.  Fridge/Freezer items.

Frozen peppers, chicken breast, lean ground beef, feta cheese, bacon, ricotta cheese, eggs, spinach, lemons, thyme.

Exhibit B.  Dry/Pantry items.

Coffee, almond milk, coconut milk, bananas, clementines, Fiberful bars, red onion, almonds, green chiles.

Oh by the way, I cleaned and organized my freezer!!

It might not look like I did a lot, but TRUST ME, it is soo much better. It also gave me an opportunity to take some inventory of what exactly was in there.  There were a few surprises, like two and a half bags of frozen peas. Seriously?? Who needs that many bags of peas?? Ugh.

I store my eggs out of the carton in this little ceramic egg holder.

I was always eyeing this at Anthropolgie for months.  After the umpteenth time of staring and contemplating it, I bought it.  So glad I did.

I had olive tapenade on the brain today.

Here’s what I started with…

Kalamata olives, thyme, garlic, anchovies, capers.

I had all intentions on typing up a recipe for you readers.  However, as per usual, as soon as I got going I had a mind lapse and didn’t measure anything.  I am a firm believer that measuring is only really necessary when baking, or when things need to be exact.  When cooking, 90 percent of the time you can wing it and throw whatever you want in the pan.  It’s all about taste and your intuition.  Try not measuring while cooking one time, you might surprise yourself.

I rough chopped a few garlic cloves.

Picked a handful of thyme leaves.

Drained some Kalamata olives.

I popped my Ipod in and played some tunes.

For some reason this song came on and I got really happy.  Maybe it was just the briney smell of the olives getting to me.  Who knows.  Love his voice though.

I decided to test out making the tapenade in the Vita Mix.

So all of the ingredients went in the blender. I also added a small drizzle of Extra Virgin Olive Oil in the mix.

I pulsed it and tamped it down until it was just pureed.

Wallah! Olive tapenade.

I’ll be eating this for days…

Has anyone every tried freezing olive tapenade??  I was thinking of freezing some but not sure how it will hold.  Leave a comment if you know! Thanks 🙂

I had a picky plate for lunch.

This crackers are awesome.  Yes they’re from Trader Joe’s [shocker].

I made a plate with the crackers, lentil chips, tapenade and goat cheese.

Holy Schnikies.

So .flippin’. good.

It wasn’t just any ordinary goat cheese.

Goat cheese with honey!! O-M-G. This cheese is amazing.

Honey laced goat cheese and olive tapenade are a fabulous combo!  I foresee them becoming best friends forever!!

If this isn’t a picture of the most perfect bite ever.  Than I don’t know what is!!

Nom Nom Nom.

That was #432789 of those crackers and spread. ^^ Addict.

Side note: I’m in desperate need of a haircut. Boo.

I’ve got dinner on the brain. See ya later!!

Vanessa 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Craig permalink
    January 17, 2011 6:18 pm

    Looking good nessa, I’m positive it tastes just as good as described. i’m proud of you the blog looks great… Been of the grid for a while, but intend to stop by regularly. Keep cooking, keep writing, and keep taking flicks, and I agree with you about writing down recipies I always intend to but by the time I finish I notice the note pad empty and the dish is done. Screw it! my kitchen my rules.lol. till next time…..

    • January 17, 2011 7:14 pm

      Thanks Craig!! Good to hear from you! I hope you continue to stop by!! I’m enjoying the ride so far! Hope you are well. 🙂

  2. January 18, 2011 6:53 pm

    Isn’t Trader Joe’s the best? I love your Anthropologie find. I love their clothes, but I love their housewares section even more!

    • January 18, 2011 9:20 pm

      It is the best!! But so so dangerous!! I love Anthro’s clothes too, but sometimes they’re financially out of my reach. That’s where the housewares section comes in 🙂

Leave a Reply

