Skip to content

The Early Bird Catches the Worm

January 18, 2011

I was not the early bird this morning.

For some reason when I have off a few days, the night before I start back at work I can never fall asleep.  That causes me to somewhat oversleep in the morning.  So my plans of what I was going to do fail.

I had a grab and go breakfast this morning.

Coffee and a KIND bar.

I loved this flavor.  I must recreate this soon.  The coconut was so good.

Today at work it was only us supervisors there.  So we spent the better half of the day cleaning the kitchen.  Let me just tell you how fun it is cleaning commercial size kitchens. NOT!!!

For lunch we brought out some leftover black bean hummus with artichoke salad. Used some tortilla chips as dippers because the pita bread was frozen.

So good.

I also brought some clementines from home.

x Two.

For the other half of the day I did some office work.  Made a prep sheet, printed and organized recipes, bulked up the supervisor binder with paperwork, etc.  I was planning on organizing the prop hallway but my wrist was still really bothering me so I opted out of that.

I totally was jamming out to Bon Jovi Pandora station. This computer has some serious sound to it!!

It was awesome.

While listening to Pandora, we got in a discussion about how music isn’t like it used to be.  It seems to be just a lot of “noise” and all about the sex.  Call me crazy but I’d take the old rock classics over any of that.

After work I went to Target to pick up some household things [ziplock baggies, foil, etc.]  I had a few impulse buys in my hand, but put them back [go me!].  I can’t tell you how incredibly difficult that was.

When I got home I made a snack plate of my newest obsession.

Olive tapenade, honey goat cheese and crackers. Pure bliss.

For dinner I knew I wanted to use some of the ground beef I bought.  So I browned it off, added a chopped carrot and cooked a couple minutes.

Deglazed the pan with a little vino.  🙂

Added some kale.

Love how GREEN it is!

Then added some frozen peas [Yes, I plan on throwing peas into anything that seems fit].

Poured some tomato sauce in the pan and simmered it for a few minutes.

Stir. Stir. Stir.

Seasoned it up with some salt and pepper and garlic.

Had some secret weapons waiting to come out!

Boiled up some spaghetti.

Cue secret weapons. Pesto and ricotta cheese.

Yeah, that’s a big dollop of ricotta cheese. Love.

Prepared a beverage.

Bubblessssss.

Once the spaghetti was aldente I transferred it directly to the saucepan and tossed it all together.

I also added a splash of the pasta cooking water to the sauce.

Added some lemon to the fizzy water.

And wallah! Dinner is served!

So good.

I toasted up a dinner roll from the freezer.

Most people butter their rolls.

But I’m not most people….

[That’s goat cheese and tapenade by the way, if you didn’t know.]

Had a chocolate assortment for dessert.

So addictive.

Tomorrow is a prep day! Shouldn’t be too bad.  I cannot wait until Sunday when I’m off.

Ok so I got this in an email from someone and have to share this with you.

http://www.wimp.com/animalvoiceovers/

Funniest freaking stuff. Damn BBC.

Have a good night 🙂

Vanessa

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 9:23 pm

    Just found your blog! Your dinner looks delish! Adding you to my reader pronto!

  2. January 19, 2011 2:09 am

    Everything looks so delish…your morning sounds much like my mondays..have a hard time getting going after a weekend off.

Trackbacks

  1. Le Tired « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

