Skip to content

Bubbly

January 19, 2011

Today was one of those mornings where the alarm went off, I opened my eyes and was very confused.  The clock said 6:30am, but it looked more like 4 am outside.  The sun was playing hide and seek!  It was a gloomy morning here in Charlotte!

Those are the mornings that make it so hard to get out of bed. Alas I did.

I attempted a frothy coffee with almond milk.

I love froth.

And bubbles.

My bananas are not quite ripe yet, which left me quite stumped for breakfast.  So I broke out a new cereal.

I like cinnamon and I like harvest.  What the hell!

Had it in a bowl with almond milk and blueberries [which I am now out of].

Verdict?  It was good.  I really was digging the cinnamon undertones!

I was so energetic for work this morning.  I wasted no time getting started on prep.  I wonder why that was. Who gets excited to work??

We cooked up some bacon and let the fat drain.

On “Jersey Shore” they sing about “t-shirt timeeeeeee.”  Well for us it’s “bacon timeeeeeeee.” [We don’t really sing.

I peeled and cut some sweet potatoes.

They are for roasting tomorrow.

Also poached some Anjou pears in some red wine.

I’ve poached the pears for salad in white wine and red wine.  I much prefer the red.  It’s color is richer and darker and I like the tasted better.

Then I played with some dressings.  Sometimes I feel like a mad scientist with bottles of vinegars, mustards, herbs, olive oil, etc.

Made some honey drizzles and thought it looked cool.  ^ Look more bubbles!!!

I actually like this shot of the honey being poured.

I secretly knew it would be brilliant as I was taking it.  Love how the light shines through the honey and gives it an amber tinted glow to it.

Worked till about 2:45 pm and came home for some lunch!  I was boring and had leftovers for lunch.

Boring isn’t always bad though!! In fact it was delicious!  It was the leftover cous cous, tempeh bake I made the other day.

On the side was some Chobani yogurt.

Topped with peanut butter, blueberries, almonds, blackberry lime jam.

Had a cutie on the side.

And some bubbles aka fizzy water with lemon.

Did a little straightening up and browsed Itunes since it’s been a while.  I’ve been jamming to music all day.

Back to the clementine…….

This was an evil, evil clementine.

I peeled it, and was eating it in pieces, you know like a normal person would.  I bit into one piece and a squirt of juice shot directly to the back of my throat.  Well let me tell you how unpleasant that was.  That spiralled into me coughing, trying to catch my breath and wiping my tearing eyes.  No bueno.

Has that every happened to you?? When something hits the back of your throat or goes down the wrong pipe and you just cannot stop coughing?? If you answered no, count your blessings.  Ugh. Glad that’s over.

Post is a little earlier tonight because I am going out to dinner tonight and I’m not sure when I’ll be back!!

Tomorrow will be a later post because it’s game night!! This is my Employee of the Month game where I get to watch the game from a suite and eat free food.  Hallelujah. Relaxation. Can’t wait.

Night!

Vanessa 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 8:51 pm

    I love frothy coffee! How did you like the cereal? I actually bought them this week too. I like the taste by themselves, but I think they dissolve too fast in the milk for my liking…

  2. January 20, 2011 1:12 pm

    i love that kashi. let’s face it, i love ANY kashi. any cereal really. you are my crate & barrel bowl twin!

    • January 20, 2011 11:38 pm

      Agreed with the Kashi!! Ah really?? Awesome!! Isn’t that store SO addicting?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

