Skip to content

Le Tired

January 21, 2011

I was feeling very uninspired this morning for breakfast.  So I took the easy way out.

Cereal.

Cinnamon Harvest Kashi, almond milk and banana.

Oh, and let me tell you how if it weren’t for the self timed coffee this morning, I am certain I would not have gotten up.

I had felt SO achey when I woke up. I guess that’s what happens when you work in the industry.  The long hours and lack of breaks get to you after a while.

Le sigh…

I was super busy at work today.  I got there a little early to type of my prep sheet [that I had forgotten to do yesterday!].  Then I just gathered my food product until the rock stars came in.  We had lots of prep to do, so I didn’t take any pictures. [Sorry!]

I did have to pull out the camera for this picture though.

I was peeling pears to poach and saw this tattoo of sorts on one of the pears! It looks like a heart.

It’s the little things in life..

I finally left work around 2:45 pm and made my way back home.  Time for a late lunch! Starting with some yogurt and a clementine!

Topping were the usual, peanut butter, almonds, blackberry jam, and butterscotch chips.

I heated up the spaghetti from the other day and to change it up a bit put a fried egg on top.

Mmh. It was good.

Love me some runny egg yolk. [Yes, I realize how weird that sounded].

I have been the epitome of laziness today.  After a full tummy of food, I napped for about a half hour. Then I just watched some tv, looked at some blogs, checked emails, etc [in sweatpants!].

Finally around 6ish I decided to start thinking about dinner.  I had some ground beef in the fridge so I decided to make a burger!!

I am a huge fan of caramelized onions on burgers.

So I julienned some white onions and popped them in the pan.

I just sauteed them with a little olive oil until they start to caramelize.  Then I added a few tiny pinches of sugar and a very generous splash of balsamic vinegar.

I wanted to doctor this burger up so it would not be just any ordinary burger.

I took the meat and mixed it with a couple cloves of garlic, thyme, salt, pepper and worsteshire sauce.

Then it got crazy.

I turned the burger purple.  How you may ask?  Olive tapenade. Duh.

It became super moist once I added the tapenade, so I added some breadcrumbs to it.

Then it got CRAZIER!!!!

I decided I wanted to stuff the burger.  And what better to stuff it with?

Goat cheese!! MMh..

I stuffed it, sealed it’s edges and popped it on my George Foreman lean grilling machineeeee.

It took only a few minutes to cook. I popped a small batch of kale chips in the oven and toasted a slice of bread.

Wallah, a crazy dinner!

I topped the burger with the caramelized balsamic onions. So good.

Yes, this burger was outrageous.  Yes, it looks slightly offsetting.  Yes, it was delicious, and I ate every last bite.

I mean really, who can resist ooey gooey cheese??

I can’t. I’m a sucker.

Now I am staring at my disaster of a kitchen.  Where’s a dishwasher when you need one? That’s what I want to know!!

What’s bad is after I clean it, I’m contemplating making a mess of it again.  By making these girl scout knockoffs!

Maybe I’ll just make the dough. Or not. Don’t judge me.

Game tomorrow night so expect a late post!  Hope everyone has a great night!

Night!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 9:45 pm

    Butterscotch chips are just about the best thing ever. And you totally had me with the burger, except for the olive tapenade. Olives are one of maybe four foods I do not like. We haven’t been to a game this year but I’m contemplating getting tickets so my little cousin can go to a game. She would love it!

    • January 22, 2011 10:56 pm

      I love those chips! I’m sorry about the burger :-/ You should totally come to a game! You can buy some tickets at a descent price nowadays. It’s great for youngins’, I always see them there and they are having a blast!!

Leave a Reply

