Skip to content

T.G.I.S.

January 22, 2011

T.G.I.S.

[Thank God It’s Saturday!!!!]

Started my morning off right with a mug of oats!

In the mix: Rolled oats, almond milk, water, salt, brown sugar, banana, chia seeds, cinnamon.

Toppings: Peanut Butter, almonds, butterscotch chips.

Today was my last day of work for a few days, so I was super exited to get it started.

Took a few shots of prep work today.

Some cremini mushrooms ready for roasting.

I just tossed them with olive oil, roasted garlic and shallots, rosemary, salt and pepper.

Made some chicken salad and let it do it’s thang.

Letting it marinate for hours makes it so much more flavorful!!

I sauteed some shrimp off for a salad.

I kept it really simple with olive oil, salt and pepper.

I played with some chayote squash.  It looks so funny.

I just pitted it and cut it into chunks.  I wanted to take some of the “rawness” out of the squash so I boiled them in salted water for a few minutes until tender but still crisp.

Pictures of some rock star salads:

Wild Rice and Wheatberry Salad: Wild rice, wheatberries, celery, dried cranberries, red and yellow bell peppers, citrus vinaigrette, parsley.

This salad is very light and refreshing.  I love all of the colors!

Whole Wheat Penne Pasta Salad: Penne pasta, roasted peppers, asparagus, sun dried tomatoes, shaved parmesan, roasted mushrooms, red wine vinaigrette.

You really can’t go wrong with a good pasta salad.

Citrus Chicken Salad: Chicken breast, grapes [red and green], celery, toasted pecans, apples [red and green], balsamic orange dressing.

Marination did this salad good, really good.

Three Bean Salad: Pinto, kidney and garbanzo beans, parsley, minced red onion and celery, cider dressing.

Marination also helps this salad out too!

Purple Peruvian Potato Salad: Purple potatoes, chorizo, grilled corn, roasted poblano peppers, green onions, red bell peppers, balsamic honey mustard vinaigrette.

This salad has potential.  It needs some editing. But it was still descent.

Jicama and Chayote Squash Salad: Jicama, chayote squash, cilantro dressing, sliced almonds, red onions.

This was a refreshing salad.  Usually people are turned off by jicama down here, but people actually ate this.  It was pretty darn tasty.

Shrimp Nicoise Salad: Sauteed shrimp, haricot vert, grape tomatoes, red onions, kalamata olives, hardboiled eggs, marinated artichoke hearts, white balsamic vinaigrette.

A neat spin on a nicoise salad!

We faced Atlanta tonight, so we had a little bit of a crowd, nothing huge though.  It was review time too.  I always am hesitant about reviews.  I know my opinion of me and my performance, but never what others think of it.  At times it could be hard to hear.

After my review I was thinking about my life, my job, me in general.  I think 2011 should needs to be about challenges.  I don’t know what they are yet, but I really need to start thinking about some.  It’s never good to feel too comfortable in one place.  There should always be something to learn and something stimulating.  So that’s the plan. Challenge myself.

I’m going to grab a quick snack and bake some cookies for tomorrow.

Yes I know it’s almost 11pm.  <–wacko!

Then me and my pillow need some alone time.

Night!!

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

