Skip to content

Samoa Sunday

January 23, 2011

You heard it.  I’ve declared today Samoa Sunday. If you don’t know what a Samoa is, I suggest finding your closest girl scout troop.  They’ll give you the memo.

I saw this recipe on the Yahoo main page. You can find it here.

I made the dough the other night and stuck it in the freezer.  The dough is suppose to be shaped in a round, cylinder shape.

I failed.  Mine was more oval, rectangle, if you will.  We all can’t be perfect, ok?

Cut the dough into thin slices and punched a whole in the center.

I used an apple corer.  Improvise as you like.

Once you have all of these lovelies.

Stick them in a preheated 350 degree oven for eight minutes or until crisp.  Let them cool on a wire rack.

After I baked mine I figured the best way to let them properly cool was to get out of the house for a half hour.  I was looking over the recipe and I forgot I didn’t have heavy cream for the caramel [Doh!].   So I ran to Harris Teeter and of course came back with over $20 worth of food.  Hey at least I did not forget the cream!

These chips were two for $5!!  I love the sweet potato and lime flavored ones.  I’ve never tried these flavors! Score!

It was an IZZE kind of day.

After I put away my bounty [and one of my small pantry shelves broke.  SERIOUSLY?].  Don’t worry nothing was harmed.

I toasted some coconut.

Try not to eat it all before they make it onto the cookies.

Ok time for the caramel sauce.

Put the sugar, corn syrup, salt, water in a pot and stir to combine.

Put it on medium heat and let it dissolve and bubble away.

You can use a brush dipped in water to dissolve the sugar on the sides of the pot.

You’ll see the bubbling began to get a little rowdy and vigorous.  That’s a good thing.

Swirl it around a bit and watch carefully.  You’ll see it start going through stages. See how the color is changing?

Almost perfectly amber in color!

When it looks like that, take it off the heat immediately.  No one likes burnt sugar. Blegh.

Stir in your butter and heavy cream and vanilla.  Watch for the bubbles!

You should get a smooth caramel sauce!

Since we’re making samoas, I dumped some of the coconut into the caramel.  MMh.

Dip the cookies the caramel, coconut mixture and put it on parchment.  Then put them in the freezer to set.

Note: I added additional coconut on top of the caramel. I’m crazy.

While I was waiting for the cookies to set, I had some guacamole and chips.

And a clementine. This one wasn’t evil.

Once your cookies are set, melt some chocolate!

Dip the cookie in the chocolate and use a for to get it out. Make sure you put them back on the parchment!  Then drizzle some melty chocolate over top of the cookies.

Then you’ll want to put them in the fridge or freeze, depending on how desperate you are.  Needless to say I chose the freezer. 🙂 The chocolate needs to harden before you indulge.

Quality control? Why of course.

Why do I always look up in these pictures? What a weirdo.

In any case these were delicious.

Nom, nom, nom.

I will make these again.  These weren’t bad considering I rushed through the whole thing. Next time I will take my time in hopes of making a round cookie.

I’m totally vegging for the rest of the day.

Adios!

Vanessa 🙂

Leave a Reply

