Skip to content

Start of an Awesome Weekend…

January 28, 2011

Started off the day with french toast.

I’ve been craving it ever since I bought this bread!  [Great Harvest Cinnamon Chip]

I just sliced two pieces of the bread.  Then made a quick mix of egg, milk, vanilla, cinnamon.

Melt some buttah’.

Dip the bread in the egg mix and crisp in the pan. Go crazy with toppings.

Accompanied by a cup of Mud.

Topped with melty peanut butter, syrup, toasted coconut and blueberries.

Holy yum.

Katrina [my bff from Jersey] finally  flew in today!! Yay!

We got her settled at my apartment and then went to Southpark mall.  She had to return something at a store so we just spent some time browsing through the stores and window shopping.

We went into Anthro. I now want these giraffes.

Judge me if you want, but they are fabulous!!

We set on a late lunch since we had a late dinner planned.  We went to try a new restaurant! The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar!

I love their sister restaurant Eez, so I was excited for this.

We got a few plates to share.

The Cowfish Chili Cheese Fries.

Blackened Ahi Tuna Nachos.

Soy Vegan Roll. This was so intriguing and so refreshing and light!

Included: Mixed greens, beets, mango, cucumber, gobo root and sesame dressing

The sky looked awesome as it was starting to set.

When we get together we take a nauseating amount of pictures.

Here’s the start of a photoshoot….

Don’t judge us.  We’re like sisters from another mother!

Tonight we had plans to meet my Aunt and Uncle for dinner for restaurant week!!  I actually wore heels for the first time in ages [ow].

We finally got a reservation at Upstream in Southpark.

I really enjoyed this place.  I stupidly forgot to take pictures of the ENTIRE meal.  Sorry, I was so caught up in the food and conversation that I had a mind lapse in judgement.

Here’s a recap of my meal:

First Course: Coconut Crusted White Shrimp – chilled vermicelli noodles, cucumber, mint sesame & yuzu

Second Course: Miso & Tangerine Marinated Corvina Seabass – blue crab & scallop dumplings, clamshell mushrooms & blue crab broth

Dessert: Dark Chocolate Mousse – Amaretto cream & hazelnut praline

I did take a picture of dessert.

It was awesome. I love chocolate moose. I also had a few tastes of everyones meals [short ribs, creme brulee, beets].

We both felt like we had a food baby from today.  So relieved to put on sweatpants.

Don’t you just love Katrina’s shirt??  [P.S. she’s an R.D.]

Time for beddy by.  Tomorrow will involve food baby round #2.  I think we’ll be hitting up the NoDa area!

Oh I almost forgot!! I won Kath’s giveaway today!! I won her homemade peanut butter and a CUISINART!! I am so shocked and excited! I never win anything!! Thanks so much Kath!! You are awesome!

Now the question is what to make first……Ideas? Suggestions??

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 1:01 pm

    Pesto, homemade nut butters, pie crust, you can make ANYTHING with these things! Also, it is perfect for grating carrots for muffins or cake–never use a real grater again. Congrats! That must have been very exciting.

    • January 29, 2011 4:51 pm

      I know there’s so much that you can do with them!! I just need to commit to something!! Thanks!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

