Skip to content

Womp Womp Womp

January 31, 2011

The alarm went off way too early this morning.  After having almost a week off from work, I was not looking forward to getting back into this routine.

Oh well, whatever will be, will be.

I heated up some leftover farro porridge with vanilla almond milk.

I topped it with blueberries, toasted coconut and toasted pecans.

Perfect little spoonful.

Today most definitely felt longgggg. These next few days at work are dedicated to a tasting we have for the golf tournament here in Charlotte in April.  Pretty much everyone takes a recipe on the menu, makes it and we all quality control and make any tweaks we feel are needed. Then we make notes about what changed and move on to the next.  There’s a lot of recipes, ranging from sauces and dressings to salads and short ribs. Needless to say, I really didn’t have time to take pictures today at work.

It was around 4 pm when my friend Katrina [the one who’s in town] called me and said her scheduled flight back to New Jersey tomorrow was cancelled.  She needed to get back home, so she had to fly out tonight. What?!?!?!

Serious buzzkill.

So I left work at 4:30pm and rushed back to the apartment, changed and loaded the car.  Why all the rushing?? Her flight was at 8:25 pm, which left us just enough time to have our last supper together!!

We chose Copper Restaurant here in Charlotte.

We tried going here Sunday for lunch, but much to our surprise they were closed.  Apparently they are only open for dinner on Sundays [fyi].

Their menu was a fun mix of modern and traditional Indian food.  It is a little pricier than your average Indian restaurant meal.  But so so worth it.

The decor is pretty fun.

Smile!! It’s your last supper in Charlotte, NC!

The ceiling was painted like the sky and had fun curvy lights.

We had an appetizer to start:

Potli Samosa — Savory vegetable parcels, crunchy beets and greens, hot-sweet-and-sour chutney.

These were so cute! They were tasty too.  The sweet and sour sauce on the bottom was awesome!

They give you a trio of chutney/dips for naan bread!

The top is a mango chutney. The middle is a mint sort of chutney.  The bottom was this delicious yogurt dipping sauce.  The yogurt was my favorite.

Can’t forget about the naan!!!

Seriously, they probably could have given me a basket of naan bread and I would have been happy and satisfied for dinner.

I went with something a little wild and crazy for my entree.  I forget what it was called. It’s these goat cheese croquettes on top of  a creamy tomato and mushroom sauce with julienned vegetables on top.

This was SO good!  Seriously though, can you really go wrong with anything goat cheese?!

I also love, love, loved this sauce!! It had the perfect amount of heat!  I am such a sucker for a good sauce.

We ordered more garlic naan.

Because that’s how we roll…

Perfect for sopping up all of the extra sauce!!

I also stole some of Katrina’s rice.

Mmh it was SO fluffy!! I really really love rice.  Growing up, I would eat a bowl of rice for lunch or dinner just “because”.  I know, so odd.

Another fun fact:  I hate cooking rice.  I love eating it, but hate, hate, hate cooking it!!

After too many pieces of naan and glasses of water later, I dropped Katrina off at the airport and said goodbye.  I really hated that she had to go a day early, but mother nature had other plans.  She’s in the air as we speak!

I am currently snuggling in my sheets writing this post watching Sex and the City on E [which is so ridiculously edited].  I also can’t stop drinking water, I am SO parched!! I will not be lasting long tonight.  So tired.

Oh, by the way, I could really use some of these right about now.

Good night 🙂

Vanessa

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 11:58 pm

    dinner looks awesome. It’s always sad when friends have to leave, especially when a day early and you didn’t count on it.

  2. February 1, 2011 1:31 pm

    all that drama of leaving early for nothing.. o well… do you think those nutella-mallow pillows are better then our nutella wontons?

    • February 1, 2011 7:33 pm

      Who knows.. Anything with nutella is delicious regardless!! I mean how bad can it be? Seriously?

  3. February 1, 2011 1:43 pm

    Farro porridge sounds really good!

Leave a Reply

