Skip to content

Steel Cut Deliciousness

February 1, 2011

I slept like a log last night.  I think I even managed to go to bed before 11pm. <–Old poop alert.

Decided to start the morning off with a different style of oats.

Cue steel cut oats!

Accompanied by some coffee of course.

I had this almost empty coconut butter jar.  Perfect vehicle for oats!!

I stuck the jar in the microwave for a little bit until it turned brownish.  This my friends is how you make toasted coconut butter!

So good.

I just made the oats with banana, vanilla almond milk, water.

I served the oats in the almost empty coconut butter jar.

Then I topped it with toasted coconut and blueberries.

As you can see I hated this immensely.

This was probably my favorite batch of oats yet! So good.

Gosh today was an even longer day at work!  It was day two of the tasting prep.  So of course, no time for pictures!  We had a mini pre tasting for some of the food, which went well.  I fried some plantain chips. They were delish. I packed up some table props for transport to the venue tomorrow. I did other things as well, I just can’t think of them right now. Having a major brain lapse.

Anyways, it was about 6:30 pm before I got out of work. Le sigh.

I was starving!! I realize the irony in that.  I work in a kitchen where I am surrounded by food. How on earth am I hungry??

Well when I’m around a lot of food at work and making big quantities of things, I just have no desire to eat a lot.  I feel that if I eat a lot it’ll drag me down at work.  Then that leads to me not being productive, which leads to wasting my time. Well you get the idea now.

As soon as I got home, I started chopping some things for one of my “go to” throw together dinners.  Egg frittata or scramble.

I found those little baby creamer potatoes at TJ’s this weekend, so I halved a few of those babies.

I heated up a nonstick pan with some olive oil.

Threw the potatoes in and let it caramelize and get soft.

Once the potatoes are soft, I added some red bell pepper and red onion.

I tossed them around a bit until they started to get tender.

Then I added some paprika and garlic.

Then I added some spinach until it wilted.

I whisked up two eggs and added a splash of milk.

Then I added the eggs to the pan and scrambled them.  I sprinkled some feta cheese in the mix too.

This was gone in record timing.  I served a piece of Great Harvest Honey Whole Wheat toast on the side.

So full of flavor and so quick and easy to do!

I also went to go toast my bread and the darned toaster wouldn’t stay down.  I was too hungry to mess with it, but I’m hoping there’s some way to salvage it.  I really don’t feel like buying a new toaster, I’m poor enough as it is.

I got the new Anthro catalog in the mail today!!

I need to get rich so that all of my wardrobe can come from this store!! It’s so addicting!  They always make you feel so warm and welcome when you visit the store. They start dressing rooms for you, write your name on the door so you feel all “special”. Ugh. One day.

I tried something new for dessert today!

Banana coconut soft serve!

All I did was take out a frozen banana from the freezer, threw it in the Vita Mix with some vanilla almond milk and cinnamon.  I let it blend for a few and poured it into a bowl.  The consistency was still a little runny so I popped it in the freezer for 20 minutes or so to let it thicken.

It did, I should have left it longer because it was still a little runny, but I was hungry. Oh well.

I topped it with toasted coconut [can you tell I’m on a coconut binge??]

This was pretty good and the variations you can make with it are endless!!

Early morning at work tomorrow!! It’s the day of the tasting.  Boo.

I need to get into bed and work on some prep sheets for work and then have some one on one time with my pillow.

See you all tomorrow!

Vanessa 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 10:32 pm

    hehe… I go to bed before 10!! SUPER old fart here!! 🙂

    Yummy looks good!!

    I am jealous of anthropology! I’ve seen their stuff online and it’s gorgeous!! 🙂

    • February 2, 2011 6:58 am

      Horray for old farts!! Anthropologie is such an addiction. I’ve now been forced to save shopping there for “special occasions”. Although it is questionable what constitutes “special occasions” Haha.

  2. February 2, 2011 12:40 am

    Busy days call for early bed times…nothing wrong with that… I think i was in bed by 10pm last night too and will be much the same tonight I think. And I Love steal cut oats… I cook a big batch the night before that will last me 3 breakfast..then I just have to add a bit of milk and heat in microwave the next morning..so much quicker during the work week.

    • February 2, 2011 6:59 am

      That is definitely the way to do it with steel cut oats!! They take so long in the morning!!

  3. February 2, 2011 8:41 pm

    For me, you totally could have stopped at the sauteed veggies- that looked absolutely delicious.

    • February 2, 2011 10:36 pm

      I agree, the veggies were amazing!! I just needed a little something more to fill me up!! Eggs just seemed like the easiest and quickest thing!

Leave a Reply

