Skip to content

Out With The Old, In With The New

February 3, 2011

This was a rough morning getting up.  Did you ever just feel like everything aches?

I wish I had a personal masseuse right about now.

I was not up for a huge breakfast this morning, so I had the grab and go round #2!

Work was so busy today and will continue to be busy throughout the longggg weekend. Ugh.

Everyone was still all delirious today.  Which was actually fine by me. I find that when you add a little humor in the day, it makes it go by easier.

I had a little turkey sandwich for lunch [along with other pickings].

It’s on a pretzel roll and has some apple slaw on top.  What a tasty little bite.

Ok we had some abnormally large case of butternut squash get delivered today.

Seriously they were on like steroids or something.  Freaked me out.  They were a pain to cut too.

I roasted some golden and red beets.

Here lies the aftermath….

It’s like a beet crime scene up in there.

I got out of work around 4:30ish, got some gas [What is up the expensive gas prices?! Not a fan] and went home.  I finally took my garbage out and then it was playtime.

This was my current food processor.  It is sort of sentimental to me, which is probably why I never shelled out the money for a new one.

However, being the hoarder that I am, I am holding on to it for the time being.

So I packed up my old processor and unpacked my new toy!!

Isn’t she purtttyyyyy??

I was not really sure what I wanted to make first in the new food processor.  Then I looked in my fridge and saw I was about out of nut butter [Oh the horror!].

Cue sunflower seeds.

I love Naturally Nutty’s Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Butter, so I used this as my inspiration.

I put the seeds in the processor and let it whirl for a few minutes, scraping down the sides periodically.

I took a few pictures of the process.

Once you see the “butter ball”, that’s when it starts to get fun.

Butterization!!

Here you have the finished product!

I don’t measure when I make nut butters.  I just judge it all by taste and consistency.

In this nut butter was: sunflower seeds [roasted and unsalted], salt, mexican vanilla, flax seed, canola oil, cinnamon, splash of maple syrup.

Quality control time!!!

Thumbs up!

A very successful adaptation of Naturally Nutty’s Vanilla Cinnamon Sunflower Butter.

Onto dinner.

I had a sweet potato that was about to turn so I planned dinner around the spud.

I peeled and grated one humungo sweet tater.

I mixed the grated tater with half a grated white onion, one egg, flour, cinnamon, paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper.

Then formed them into patties and pan fried them.  I laid then out of a sheet tray and popped them in the oven to get extra crispy.

I chopped up the remains of the green cabbage and caramelized it.

I kept it simple with the toppings for the pancakes.

Half with ricotta, half with sour cream.

This was a very comforting dinner.  Why have I never made potato pancakes with sweet potato before??

Must repeat soon!!

Ok well time for me to get comfy and catch some tv before bed!

Game night tomorrow so a very late post is to be expected! Let’s hope I survive yet another insane day!

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 11:27 pm

    Looks like some comfort food to me… yumm

  2. February 4, 2011 5:44 pm

    Ohhhh I love the idea of sweet potatoe pancakes, looks soo good!! That butter looks amazing too!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

