Skip to content

One of These Days…

February 7, 2011

I had the strangest night of sleep last night. I woke up a handful of times, thinking I was late for work.  Even though the room was pitch black.

Breakfast was boring.

It involved lots and lots of coffee.

Then it was off to work!

It was a busy day today. I made a few more dressings, cooked some meat, and chopped a few more things.

I was playing with the honey in one of the dressings I was making.

I may or may not have been delirious at this point.

Heather made some pretty cheese plates!

Who wouldn’t want to eat that cheese plate?? It’s filled with Boursin [crack], smoked gouda, smoked cheddar, brie and blue cheese.

We made caprese salads with red and yellow tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, basil and a basil oil drizzled over top.

Such a yummy classic.

Duck Salad was on the menu!

Blackened duck breasts, romaine lettuce, roasted pineapple, tomatoes, onions, jicama and a roasted pineapple vinaigrette. MMMH!

Had a few new salads on the menu tonight.

Chilled Shrimp Salad: Sauteed shrimp, red and yellow tomatoes, chives, green onions, red onions, shaved fennel and a lemon tarragon vinaigrette.

This salad was pretty tasty.  The crowd thought so too! I was wiped out of it in NO time and had to make more shrimp! Crazy.

The other new salad was a Crab and Avocado salad.

Crab meat, corn, red onions, red and yellow tomatoes, avocado, cilantro, cilantro lime dressing.

Not as popular as the shrimp salad.  But still tasty!

Of course something had to happen tonight at work.

HEALTH DEPARTMENT INSPECTION!!!!!!

Ughh.  Straight up, bane of my existence.

Cold side [my priority] was for the most part spot on.  Every inspection I learn how to make my system better though I must say. One of these days I will be perfect!! I always get so nervous though.  I feel that it all reflects on me and how I lead my team.  I also HATE failing at things. The silliest mistake will ruin my day. Seriously….

Anyways, I was pooped when I got home.

Nothing a little wine and sweets couldn’t cure.

Hello lovely…

Now it is time to catch up on my sleep.  I absolutely cannot wait to not have to wake up to an alarm tomorrow morning!!

I also want to make these brownies immediately.

Well not now, but soon.

Now is bed time.

I’ll be going lakeside tomorrow!

Goodnight!!

Vanessa 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 11:27 pm

    Glad the inspection went well.. I can totally understand why it would be stressful.

Leave a Reply

