Skip to content

A “Real” Friday.

February 11, 2011

I can’t remember when I had a “real” friday.  Usually my week is just starting on friday.  However today I feel like everyone else in the working world.

I have off tomorrow!! Although I do have to work sunday [I’m ignoring that whole situation for the moment].

Work wasn’t so bad today.  Service was slow, which was a nice change of pace, sort of.

Here’s some salads of the night [New and Old]…

Winter Citrus Salad:  Watercress, frisee, arugula, pickled red onions, grapefruit and orange segments, dried cranberries and apricots, candied walnuts, citrus vinaigrette.

Loved all of the colors in this salad.

Baby Carrots: Baby carrots with a honey orange butter glaze.  Garnished with fresh tarragon.

These are always a crowd favorite.

Mixed Baby Greens Salad:  Baby spinach, arugula, shaved fennel, shaved radish, oven dried tomatoes, toasted pine nuts, dijon dressing.

Crab Cobb Salad:  Crab, romaine lettuce, grape tomatoes, red onions, avocado, creamy dill dressing.

This was the first time I used a dill dressing for this salad.  I think it was pretty awesome!

Grilled Zucchini Spears:  served with optional  lemon aioli on the side.

Antipasti Misto:  Iceberg lettuce, julienned ham, salami and pepperoni, green olives, croutons, shaved parmesan and red wine vinaigrette.

Definitely one of my favorites.

BBQ Shrimp Salad:  Romaine lettuce, bbq spiced shrimp, grilled corn, grape tomatoes, chili lime dressing.

The south has a huge infatuation with shrimp.  I don’t get it.

Since service was slow, I was definitely lacking some energy.

It’s times like these where all you need is a little treat to make everything better.

Cue ice cream!

Half vanilla, half chocolate.  Topped with candied pecans. YUM!

I don’t keep a whole lot of ice cream in my apartment, so it’s always a treat!

——-

Kitchen update:  90% sure my kitchen will be getting ripped apart Monday. I have mixed feelings about that.  It’s awesome to get some much needed [and overdue] kitchen upgrades.  However, it’s SUCH a mess!  I miss being able to use my sink and cook and experiment with different foods at home!  Keep your fingers crossed it all works out well!

I’m about to pour myself a heaping glass of wine and hit the sack.  Sometimes an after work night cap is just what the doctor ordered!!

Oh, by the way. Still taking applications for a personal masseuse! Just throwing that out there!!!

See you all tomorrow!!

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

P.S.  Anyone know of anything exciting going on in Charlotte tomorrow??

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 11:07 pm

    Those salads look great 🙂

Leave a Reply

