Skip to content

Pizza Pizza

February 16, 2011

Since today was kind of a crazy day with no real agenda, I decided to recap my day from yesterday.

Since my kitchen was still in “demo” conditions, I found it in my best interest to relocate myself away from the banging and booming coming from my kitchen.  At this point in time, my head was banging and booming all on it’s own.  I drove up to the lake and did my laundry [a whole three loads], watched tv and cooked some dinner.

Dinner was quite fabulous if I do say so myself.  As I was leaving my apartment in the morning, I blindly grabbed a few contents from my fridge and decided I’d be able to whip something up with them.

I was really wanting some pizza, so that’s what I made.  Just not your ordinary take out pizza.

I started out with a pre made crust from Trader Joe’s.  I rolled it out into a sort of circle shape and pricked some holes in it with a fork.  Then I gave it a little drizzle of some EVOO.  Baked it for about 10-15 minutes until almost cooked through.

While the crust was baking, I took a gander outside and saw a killer sunset happening!! I don’t know what it is about the sunsets and sunrises on the lake but they are out of this world.

Of course I took the opportunity to totally geek out and take some pictures…

What do you think?  Any favorites??  I can’t decide as per usual.  I do sort of fancy the second to last one though.

Anyways back inside to tend to dinner…

I was cutting bell pepper rings for my pizza and got down to the end of the orange one and laughed.

M-I-C-K-E-Y  M-O-U-S-E!!

Anyone else see it or is it just me??

Ok maybe it was just me.

Anywho.

I had a bunch of kale I needed to use up.  I always tend to make kale chips and I just wanted to do something totally out there!   So I blanched the kale leaves in water for about four minutes and let them drain for a while.

I ended up turning the blanched kale into…

KALE PESTO!

I pulsed it in the food processor with some walnuts, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper, garlic and EVOO.

Pretty tasty.

I didn’t take a picture of my steps of making the pizza [because let’s face it, it’s pretty self explanatory.].

Here’s my pizza’s layers though:  Crust, hummus, kale pesto, caramelized red onions, bell pepper rings, grape tomatoes and feta cheese.

Here’s my slice:

Oh, I almost forgot to tell you one of the BEST parts of this pizza!!

I drizzled some balsamic reduction overtop!! OMG!!! I’m sorry if this comes out totally grossing some of you out, but I could take shots balsamic vinegar!!  I just find it so tangy and sweet and delicious.

So yea, that was my bomb-diggity dinner. I had the leftovers today. Mmh mmh good!

————-

Today was spent folding laundry, eating leftovers, doing dishes and watching Mad Men season 1.  I’ve never watched Mad Men before today, and I must say I liked it and now I find myself wondering what happens in later seasons! Any other Mad Men fans out there??

I am currently writing this post from a Starbucks.  I like blogging from a “mobile office”.  It’s fun and I don’t get distracted as easily.  Ok well people watching distracts me a tiny bit.

Kitchen Update:  I just got the call from my landlord.  They have the cabinets and everything installed.  They need to come back tomorrow morning to finish hooking up my washer and stuff and then it will be finito!!!!! I’m going back to the apartment after this post to check it out.  I’ll be sure to take pictures tomorrow when it’s all done and I’m loading my things back into place.

Ok off I go! New Top Chef episode tonight!! Yayy!

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

P.S. This is my 1-0-0 th post!!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 10:17 pm

    A new kitchen is exciting…and the sunset pics are pretty. I love watching the sunrise on the ocean.

    • February 17, 2011 12:36 am

      It is exciting.. However the one downfall of renting is that it’s not up to my own aesthetic. But new is better than old. Thanks! It’s so calming isn’t it??

  2. Anthony permalink
    February 17, 2011 7:04 pm

    Nice lake shots. I’m a huge fan of Mickey Mouse.

  3. February 18, 2011 3:44 pm

    Great sunset pictures! I just heard of someone else making kale pesto the other day. So random how things you’ve never heard of get brought up a couple time in the span of a few days! The pizza looks great!

    • February 18, 2011 4:20 pm

      Thanks!! I bet kale pesto will be all over the blogosphere soon. I’ve seen a lot of different pestos on blogs lately!! They’re SO easy and flavorful!!

Leave a Reply

